May 11, 2013; Vancouver, British Columbia, CAN; Vancouver Whitecaps forward Darren Mattocks (11) jumps to block a shot by Los Angeles Galaxy defender Omar Gonzalez (4) during the second half at BC Place Stadium. The Vancouver Whitecaps won 3-1. Mandatory Credit: Anne-Marie Sorvin-USA TODAY Sports

Los Angeles Galaxy vs. Vancouver Whitecaps: Live Blog

Bruce Arena’s Los Angeles Galaxy continue their season on Saturday, Jul. 19 when they face Martin Rennie’s Vancouver Whitecaps at StubHub Center in Carson, Calif. The Galaxy are coming off a tough 2-1 loss to the Portland Timbers on the road. They let Portland off the hooks thanks to giving up goals late in stoppage time.

With a record of 9-8-3 (30 points), the Galaxy are in fifth place in the MLS Western Conference, while Vancouver are third with a record of 9-5-5 (32 points). The race in the MLS Western Conference is tight and wide-open, and the Galaxy need a victory if they are to catch up.

# Club PTS GP PPG W L T GF GA GD HG HGD RG RGD
1 Real Salt Lake 37 20 1.85 11 5 4 32 18 14 17 9 15 5
2 Portland Timbers 33 19 1.74 8 2 9 30 18 12 16 10 14 2
3 Vancouver Whitecaps 32 19 1.68 9 5 5 32 26 6 23 11 9 -5
4 FC Dallas 31 20 1.55 8 5 7 27 27 0 15 6 12 -6
5 LA Galaxy 30 20 1.5 9 8 3 30 24 6 16 13 14 -7
6 Colorado Rapids 30 21 1.43 8 7 6 25 23 2 14 4 11 -2
7 Seattle Sounders FC 24 17 1.41 7 7 3 21 20 1 14 8 7 -7
8 San Jose Earthquakes 24 21 1.14 6 9 6 21 32 -11 14 3 7 -14
9 Chivas USA 17 20 0.85 4 11 5 18 35 -17 10 -6 8 -11

Join The View from Avalon’s Jo-Ryan Salazar for all of the action from Carson! Kickoff is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. PT/10:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by Time Warner Cable Sportsnet. The Live Blog will begin at approximately 5:45 p.m. PT/8:45 p.m. ET.

Keep it right here on the View from Avalon for continuing coverage of the 2013 Major League Soccer season and all things Los Angeles Galaxy.

Tags: Live Blog Los Angeles Galaxy Major League Soccer Mls Vancouver Whitecaps

comments powered by Disqus