June 15, 2013; Portland, OR, USA; Portland Timbers foward/midfielder Darlington Nagbe (6) tries to hold up a timber slab as teammate Frederic Piquionne (10) sprays water on him after the game against the FC Dallas at Jeld-Wen Field. Mandatory Credit: Steve Dykes-USA TODAY Sports

2013 MLS Power Rankings: Week 16


A few teams were taking part this week in Major League Soccer due to the international calendar. In this week’s MLS Power Rankings, the Portland Timbers are at the top of the list thanks to a statement victory over FC Dallas. Meanwhile, the Columbus Crew make the biggest jump in the rankings while the Montreal Impact slide down.

All this and more in this week’s MLS Power Rankings.

1. Portland Timbers

A goal from Darlington Nagbe in the 52nd minute gave Caleb Porter’s Portland Timbers a 1-0 victory over FC Dallas at JELD-WEN Field in Portland, Ore. The Timbers return to action with a couple of matches.

On Jun. 19, Portland travel to the StubHub Center in Carson, Calif. to take on the Los Angeles Galaxy. Kickoff is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. PT/10:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by KPTV. On Jun. 23, the Timbers host the Colorado Rapids. Kickoff is scheduled for 4 p.m. PT and will be televised by NBC Sports.

2. Real Salt Lake

Jason Kreis’s Real Salt Lake were off this past week. They return to league action on Jun. 22 against the Seattle Sounders. Kickoff at Rio Tinto is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. MT/9:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by ABC4.

3. Seattle Sounders

Sigi Schmid’s Seattle Sounders were off this past week. They return to action on Jun. 22 against Real Salt Lake at Rio Tinto Stadium. Kickoff is scheduled for 6:30 p.m. PT/9:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by KONG 6/16 and KOMO2.

4. New York Red Bulls

Mike Petke’s New York Red Bulls were off this week. They will not return to action until Jun. 23, when they travel to PPL Park in Chester, Pa. to face the Philadelphia Union. Kickoff is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by ESPN.

5. Columbus Crew

Jun 15, 2013; Columbus, OH, USA; A general view of Columbus Crew Stadium during a match against the Montreal Impact. Columbus won the game 2-0. Mandatory Credit: Greg Bartram-USA TODAY Sports

Goals from Matias Sanchez (6′) and Dominic Oduro (22′) paced the Columbus Crew to a 2-0 victory over the Montreal Impact at Crew Stadium in Columbus, Ohio. The Crew continue their home stand on Jun. 22 against the Chicago Fire. Kickoff is scheduled for 8 p.m. ET and will be televised by Fox Sports Ohio.

6. Vancouver Whitecaps

In a wild contest at BC Place Stadium in Vancouver, B.C., goals from Camilo Sanvezzo (25′), Jordan Harvey (43′) and Kenny Miller on a brace (39′, 68′) gave Martin Rennie’s Vancouver Whitecaps a 4-3 victory over the New England Revolution. Vancouver return to action on Jun. 19 against Chivas USA at BC Place Stadium. Kickoff is scheduled for 7 p.m. PT/10 p.m. ET and will be televised by TSN.

7. Montreal Impact

Marco Schallibaum’s Montreal Impact were upended 2-0 by the Columbus Crew at Crew Stadium and will hope for a more positive result when they host the Houston Dynamo on Jun. 19 at Stade Saputo in Montreal, Que. Kickoff is scheduled for 8 p.m. ET and will be televised by RDS2 and TSN.

8. FC Dallas

Schellas Hyndman’s FC Dallas drop several spots after a disappointing 1-0 defeat to the Portland Timbers on the road. They return to action on Jun. 22 against the Montreal Impact at FC Dallas Stadium in Frisco, Tex. Kickoff is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. CT and will be televised by TXA 21.

9. New England Revolution

Jun 15, 2013; Vancouver, British Columbia, CAN; Vancouver Whitecaps forward Kenny Miller (9) is given the man of the game award after the second half against the New England Revolution at BC Place stadium. The Vancouver Whitecaps won 4-3. Mandatory Credit: Anne-Marie Sorvin-USA TODAY Sports

Despite playing down to 10 men 23 minutes into the contest, Jay Heaps’s New England Revolution fought to a 4-3 defeat against the Vancouver Whitecaps at BC Place Stadium. Juan Agudelo (10′), Kelyn Rowe (20′) and Dimitry Inbomgo Boele (84′) scored for the Revs, who return to league action on Jun. 29 against Chivas USA at the StubHub Center. Kickoff is scheduled for 10:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by Comcast SportsNet.

10. Sporting Kansas City

Peter Vermes’s Sporting Kansas City were off this week and return to league play on Jun. 22 against FC Dallas at FC Dallas Stadium. Kickoff is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. CT/8:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by KSMO-TV.

11. Chicago Fire

Frank Klopas’s Chicago Fire were off this week. Chicago return to action on Jun. 19 against the Colorado Rapids. Kickoff from Toyota Park is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. CT/8:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by My50 Chicago. On Jun. 22, the Fire travel to Crew Stadium in Columbus, Ohio to take on the Columbus Crew. Kickoff is scheduled for 7 p.m. CT/8 p.m. ET and will be televised by My50 Chicago.

12. Toronto FC

A goal from Robert Earnshaw in the 30th minute along with an own goal from Daniel Woodard in the 41st minute of play gave Toronto FC a 2-1 victory over D.C. United at RFK Stadium in Washington, D.C. The Reds return to action on Jun. 22 against the Houston Dynamo at BBVA Compass Stadium in Houston, Tex. Kickoff is scheduled for 9 p.m. ET and will be televised by TSN.

13. San Jose Earthquakes

June 15, 2013; Commerce City, CO, USA; San Jose Earthquakes defender Nana Attakora (23) reacts following the win over the Colorado Rapids at Dick

Mark Watson’s San Jose Earthquakes bounced back in a big way with a 2-1 victory over the Colorado Rapids at Dick’s Sporting Goods Park in Commerce City, Colo. Steven Lenhart opened up the scoring in the 11th minute and Sam Cronin’s 52nd-minute goal proved to be the difference for the visitors. San Jose return to action on Jun. 22 against D.C. United at RFK Stadium. Kickoff is scheduled for 4 p.m. PT/7 p.m. ET and will be televised by Comcast SportsNet.

14. Houston Dynamo

Dominic Kinnear’s Houston Dynamo were off this week. Houston’s next league game is on Jun. 19 against the Montreal Impact at Stade Saputo in Montreal, Que. Kickoff is scheduled for 7 p.m. CT and will be televised by KPRC Local 2. On Jun. 22, the Dynamo host Toronto FC at BBVA Compass Stadium in Houston, Tex. Kickoff is scheduled for 8 p.m. CT and will be televised by Comcast SportsNet.

15. Philadelphia Union

John Hackworth’s Philadelphia Union were off this week. The Union return to league action against the New York Red Bulls at PPL Park on Jun. 23. Kickoff is scheduled for 5 p.m. ET and will be televised by ESPN.

16. Los Angeles Galaxy

Bruce Arena’s Los Angeles Galaxy were off this past week. Los Angeles return to action on Jun. 19 against the Portland Timbers at the StubHub Center. Kickoff is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. PT/10:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by Time Warner Cable SportsNet. On Jun. 23, Chivas USA host the Galaxy at StubHub. Kickoff is scheduled for 8 p.m. PT/11 p.m. ET and will be televised by Time Warner Cable SportsNet.

17. Chivas USA

Jose Luis Real’s Chivas USA were off this week. Chivas USA return to action on Jun. 19 against the Vancouver Whitecaps at B.C. Place Stadium. Kickoff is scheduled for 7 p.m. PT/10 p.m. ET and will be broadcast by W Radio 690 AM. On Jun. 23, the second leg of the SuperClasico takes place between Chivas and the Los Angeles Galaxy. Kickoff is scheduled for 8 p.m. PT/11 p.m. ET and will be televised by UniMas.

18. Colorado Rapids

Oscar Pareja’s Colorado Rapids were forced to play down to 10 men in the 18th minute and fell, 2-1, to the San Jose Earthquakes at Dick’s Sporting Goods Park. Nathan Sturgis scored in the 67th minute of play but it was not enough.

Colorado return to action with a couple of contest. On Jun. 19, they travel to Toyota Park to take on the Chicago Fire. Kickoff is scheduled for 6:30 p.m. MT/8:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by Altitude. On Jun. 23, the road trip continues with a match against the Portland Timbers at JELD-WEN Field. Kickoff is scheduled for 5 p.m. MT/7 p.m. ET and will be televised by NBC Sports.

19. D.C. United

Ben Olsen’s D.C. United are at the bottom of this week’s Power Rankings after a 2-1 defeat to Toronto FC at RFK Stadium. Dwayne De Rosario scored in the 19th minute for D.C., who return to action on Jun. 22 at home against the San Jose Earthquakes. Kickoff is scheduled for 7 p.m. ET and will be televised by Comcast SportsNet.

Tags: Los Angeles Galaxy Major League Soccer Mls Power Rankings

Join The Discussion