Mar 16, 2013; Montreal, Quebec, CAN; Montreal Impact midfield Patrice Bernier (8) waves to the crowd as he is named player of the match against Toronto FC at the Olympic Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Jean-Yves Ahern-USA TODAY Sports

2013 MLS Power Rankings: Week 3

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse

Rivalry Week? More like Parity Week in the wild and wacky world of MLS.

A number of teams played to entertainingly frustrating draws, while the Montreal Impact, Philadelphia Union and FC Dallas came away as big winners. Who’s moving up? Who’s going down? We’ll find out here on the MLS Power Rankings on the View from Avalon, part of the Fansided Network.

1. Montreal Impact

Boom! That’s how you make a statement at Marco Schallibaum’s Montreal Impact remain unbeaten in their 2-1 victory over Toronto FC at Olympic Stadium in Montreal. Patrice Bernier opened up the scoring in the 34th minute of play and Marco Di Vaio delivered the game-winner in the 46th minute. The Impact return to action on Mar. 23 against the New York Red Bulls at Olympic Stadium. Kickoff is scheduled for 4:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by TVA Sports.

2. Vancouver Whitecaps

Martin Rennie’s Vancouver Whitecaps were off this weekened. The Caps return to action Mar. 23 against the Houston Dynamo. Kickoff at BBVA Compass Stadium in scheduled for 5:30 p.m. PT/8:30 p.m. ET and will be televised locally by Rogers SportsNet Pacific.

3. FC Dallas

Schellas Hyndman’s FC Dallas also made a statement, stonewalling the Houston Dyname 3-2 at FC Dallas Stadium in Frisco, Tex. George John opened up the scoring in the 34th minute, Andrew Jacobson made it 2-0 in the 35th minute and Kenny Cooper delivered the game-winner in the 90th minute of play. The Hoops continue their season on Mar. 23 against Real Salt Lake. Kickoff is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. CGT/8:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by Time Warner Cable SportsNet.

4. D.C. United

Ben Olsen’s D.C. United played to a scoreless draw with the New York Red Bulls at Red Bull Arena in Harrison, N.J. D.C. return to action on Mar. 23 against the Columbus Crew. Kickoff at RFK Stadium in Washington, D.C. is scheduled for 3:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by NBC Sports Network.

5. San Jose Earthquakes

March 16, 2013; Columbus, OH, USA; San Jose Earthquakes forward Sam Garza (17) dribbles the ball in the second half against the Columbus Crew at Crew Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Rick Osentoski-USA TODAY Sports

Frank Yallop’s San Jose Earthquakes drew 1-1 with the Columbus Crew on Saturday at Crew Stadium. Justin Morrow scored the equalizer for the Quakes in the 73rd minute. Up next for San Jose is a match with the Seattle Sounders at Buck Shaw Stadium on the campus of Santa Clara University in Santa Clara, Calif. Kickoff is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. PT/10:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by Comcast SportsNet.

6. Los Angeles Galaxy

Well, that didn’t go as planned. Bruce Arena’s Los Angeles Galaxy were held to a 1-1 draw with Chivas USA at the Home Depot Center on Sunday. Jack McBean scored for Los Angeles in the 83rd minute of play. The Galaxy continue their season on Mar. 23 against the Colorado Rapids. Kickoff is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. PT/10:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by Time Warner Cable SportsNet.

7. Real Salt Lake

Jason Kreis’s Real Salt Lake also drew 1-1, this time with the Colorado Rapids at Rio Tinto Stadium in Sandy, Utah. Alvaro Saborio put the match on level terms in the 80th minute. RSL return to action on Mar. 23 against FC Dallas. Kickoff at FC Dallas Stadium in Scheduled for 6:30 p.m. MT/8:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by ABC4 and Univision.

8. Philadephia Union

John Hackworth’s Philadelphia Union move up after a 1-0 shutout victory over the New England Revolution at PPL Park in Chester, Pa. The hero: Jack McInerney in the 76th minute. McInerney has a chance to be a hero again when the Union take on Mar. 30 against the New York Red Bulls at Red Bull Arena. Kickoff is scheduled for 3:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by NBC Sports Network.

9. Chivas USA

Mar 17, 2013; Carson, CA, USA; Chivas USA defender Joaquin Velazquez (23) is escorted off the field by team administrator Manuel Tejada (right) after receiving a red card in the first half against the Los Angeles Galaxy at the Home Depot Center. Chivas USA and the Galaxy played to a 1-1 tie. Mandatory Credit: Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

Carlos Alvarez delivered some late-afternoon drama in the 89th minute to give Jose Luis Lanchez Sola’s Chivas USA a 1-1 draw with the Los Angeles Galaxy at the Home Depot Center. The Goats return to action on Mar. 24 when they travel to Toyota Park in Bridgeview, Ill. to take on the Chicago Fire. Kickoff is scheduled for 2 p.m. PT/5 p.m. ET and will be televised by UniMas.

10. Houston Dynamo

Dominic Kinnear’s Houston Dynamo are on their way down after dropping a tough 3-2 defeat to FC Dallas at FC Dallas Stadium. Andrew Driver pulled one back in the 79th minute and Brad Davis put the match on level terms in the 83rd minute but it wasn’t enough. Houston continue their season on Mar. 23, hosting the Vancouver Whitecaps at BBVA Compass Stadium in Houston, Tex. Kickoff is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. CT/8:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by Comcast SportsNet.

11. Sporting Kansas City

Peter Vermes’s Sporting Kansas City played to a scoreless draw against the Chicago Fire at Sporting Park on Saturday and will look to adjust when they travel to Gillette Stadium in Foxborough, Mass. to take on the New England Revolution. Kickoff is scheduled for 3 p.m. CT/4 p.m. ET and will be televised by KSMO-TV.

12. Seattle Sounders

Like the Galaxy, Sigi Schmid’s Seattle Sounders were also suffering from a CONCACAF Champions’ League hangover and drew 1-1 with the Portland Timbers at CenturyLink Field. And Obafemi Martins didn’t help matters out much. Perhaps the new DP would fancy a start against the San Jose Earthquakes at Buck Shaw Stadium. Kickoff is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. PT/10:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by KING 5.

13. Toronto FC

Ryan Nelsen’s Toronto FC were thrown back down to earth in their 2-1 loss to the Montreal Impact at Olympic Stadium. Robert Earnshaw’s hotstreak continued with a goal in the 68th minute of play. Toronto return to action on Mar. 30 against the Los Angeles Galaxy at BMO Field. Kickoff is scheduled for 2 p.m. ET and will be televised by TSN.

14. Columbus Crew

Mar 16, 2013; Seattle, WA, USA; Portland Timbers defender/midfielder Rodney Wallace (22) dribbles the ball up field against the Seattle Sounders FC during the second half at CentruyLink Field. Mandatory Credit: Joe Nicholson-USA TODAY Sports

Glauber gave Robert Warzycha’s Columbus Crew an early 1-0 lead over the San Jose Earthquakes, but they couldn’t hang on and were consigned to a 1-1 draw. Columbus return to action on Mar. 23 against D.C. United at RFK Stadium. Kickoff is scheduled for 3:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by NBC Sports Network.

15. Portland Timbers

Rodney Wallace salvaged some form of pride for Caleb Porter’s Portland Timbers in the 90th minute as they drew 1-1 with the Seattle Sounders at CenturyLink Field. The Timbers continue their season on Mar. 30 against the Colorado Rapids at Dick’s Sporting Goods Park in Commerce City, Colo. Kickoff is scheduled for 3 p.m. PT/6 p.m. ET and will be televised by ROOT Sports.

16. New York Red Bulls

Mike Petke’s New York Red Bulls were left in the deep freeze as they played to a scoreless draw with D.C. United at Red Bull Arena. New York travel to Olympic Stadium on Mar. 23 to take on the red-hot Montreal Impact. Kickoff is scheduled for 4:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by MSG.

17. Colorado Rapids

In spite of a 37th-minute goal from Deshorn Brown, Oscar Pareja’s Colorado Rapids were consigned to a 1-1 draw with Real Salt Lake at Rio Tinto Stadium. The road trip continues for the Rapids on Mar. 23 when they face the Los Angeles Galaxy at the Home Depot Center. Kickoff from Victoria Street is scheduled for 8:30 p.m. MT/10:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by Altitude.

18. New England Revolution

Jay Heaps’s New England Revolution were shut out by the Philadelphia Union, 1-0, at PPL Park. Some changes are in order before the Revs host Sporting Kansas City on Mar. 23 at Gillette Stadium. Kickoff is scheduled for 4 p.m. ET and will be televised by Comcast SportsNet.

19. Chicago Fire

Remaining at the bottom this week are Frank Klopas’s Chicago Fire, who battled to a scoreless draw with Sporting Kansas City. Chivas USA come to town on Mar. 24. Kickoff from Toyota Park is scheduled for 4 p.m. CT/5 p.m. ET and will be televised by UniMas.

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse

Tags: Los Angeles Galaxy Major League Soccer Mls Power Rankings

comments powered by Disqus