November 4, 2012; Los Angeles, CA, USA; San Jose Earthquakes defender Jason Hernandez (21) defends a shot on goal by Los Angeles Galaxy forward Mike Magee (18) in the second half of the game at the Home Depot Center. San Jose Earthquakes won 1-0. Mandatory Credit: Jayne Kamin-Oncea-USA TODAY Sports

Los Angeles Galaxy Ins and Outs: January 9, 2013

Mike Magee is back. Spread the word.

The Mr. November of the Los Angeles Galaxy signed to a new contract yesterday, along with goalkeeper Brian Perk and new acquisition Colin Clark. In 95 regular season appearances, Magee scores 13 goals and 11 assists, while in the postseason, Magee’s eight goals and one assists have been vital to the last two MLS Cup title runs.

“I’m so proud to have re-signed with the LA Galaxy and I can’t thank Bruce Arena and the entire Galaxy family enough for making this decision so easy for me,” Magee told LAGalaxy.com. “To all the Galaxy fans out there, let’s go win it all again!”

Perk was relied on to add depth to the Galaxy and shines during his four appearances in goal in the 2012-13 CONCACAF Champions League group stage. With Josh Saunders’s status in question, Perk could potentially be the backup to Carlo Cuducini. Meanwhile, Clark brings experience and leadership to the midfield, with 127 appearances, 93 starts, 15 goals and 13 assists playing for the Houston Dynamo and Colorado Rapids.

Second-year player Rafael Garcia was on hand to cater to the victims in Newtown, Conn. in Soccer Night in Newtown, a charity event. Other notable players flying the flag for Bruce Arena’s Galaxy include Landon Donovan and Sean Franklin.

“For me to be a part of this is something that I’ll never forget because to be able to give back, even in some small way, is very important,” Garcia told LAGalaxy.com’s Adam Serrano. “Being a father myself, I can only imagine what the families are going through so for me, it was a no brainer.

“I’m definitely glad I came and helped. To be able to see the smile on the kid’s faces and being able to interact with them along with the feedback that we got from parents was great. It was truly amazing.”

For those LA Galaxy fans looking forward to seeing Frank Lampard this summer in a G’s uniform…you will have to exhibit some patience. According to ESPN, Manchester United, Arsenal, Lazio and Inter Milan are also in the running. Lampard is currently tied for second place on Chelsea’s all-time scoring list with Kerry Dixon.

Here is the 2013 MLS schedule for the Los Angeles Galaxy:

DAY DATE OPPONENT TIME (PT) NATIONAL TV
Sunday March 3 vs. Chicago Fire 2 p.m. Univision
Sunday March 17 vs. Chivas USA 2 p.m. UniMás
Saturday March 23 vs. Colorado Rapids 7 p.m. —
Saturday March 30 at Toronto FC TBD —
Saturday April 6 vs. Montreal Impact 7:30 p.m. —
Saturday April 13 at FC Dallas 12:30 p.m. NBC Sports Network
Saturday April 20 vs. Sporting Kansas City 7:30 p.m. NBC Sports Network
Saturday April 27 at RealSaltLake 6 p.m. —
Sunday May 5 vs. Houston Dynamo 8 p.m. ESPN2/ESPN Deportes
Saturday May 11 at Vancouver Whitecaps FC TBD —
Wednesday May 15 at Philadelphia Union 4:30 p.m. —
Sunday May 19 at New York Red Bulls 10 a.m. ESPN2/ESPN Deportes
Sunday May 26 vs. Seattle Sounders FC 8 p.m. ESPN2/ESPN Deportes
Sunday June 2 at New England Revolution 1 p.m. NBC Sports Network
Saturday June 8 at RealSaltLake 6:30 p.m. —
Wednesday June 19 vs. Portland Timbers 7:30 p.m. —
Sunday June 23 at Chivas USA 8 p.m. UniMás
Saturday June 29 at San Jose Earthquakes 7:30 p.m. —
Thursday July 4 vs. Columbus Crew 8 p.m. —
Sunday July 7 vs. FC Dallas 7:30 p.m. —
Saturday July 13 at Portland Timbers 8 p.m. NBC Sports Network
Saturday July 20 vs. Vancouver Whitecaps FC 7:30 p.m. —
Saturday July 27 at Colorado Rapids 6 p.m. —
Sunday August 11 at FC Dallas 5 p.m. ESPN2/ESPN Deportes
Saturday August 17 vs. RealSaltLake 7:30 p.m. —
Saturday August 24 at Vancouver Whitecaps FC TBD —
Saturday August 31 vs. San Jose Earthquakes 7:30 p.m. —
Saturday September 7 vs. Colorado Rapids 7:30 p.m. —
Sunday September 15 at D.C. United 2 p.m. UniMás
Saturday September 21 vs. Seattle Sounders FC 7:30 p.m. NBC Sports Network
Sunday September 29 at Portland Timbers 12:30 p.m. NBC
Sunday October 6 vs. Chivas USA 2 p.m. UniMás
Sunday October 20 vs. San Jose Earthquakes 6 p.m. ESPN/ESPN Deportes
Sunday October 27 at Seattle Sounders FC 6 p.m. ESPN/ESPN Deportes

Tags: Frank Lampard Los Angeles Galaxy Major League Soccer Mike Magee Mls

comments powered by Disqus