2015 MLS Power Rankings: Week 12

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse
May 23, 2015; Montreal, Quebec, CAN; Montreal Impact fans cheer during the second half against FC Dallas at the Stade Saputo. Mandatory Credit: Jean-Yves Ahern-USA TODAY Sport

Surprise, surprise, we have a new face atop this week’s MLS Power Rankings. The Montreal Impact are playing a game of catchup to justify the form they had in the CONCACAF Champions League and so far, their resurgence has them at No. 1. A number of teams have secured only deadlocks, and make way for another team making their move, the Colorado Rapids. Let’s take a look at this week’s MLS Power Rankings on The View From Avalon, part of the FanSided Network.

1. Montreal Impact

Goals from Ignacio Piatti (25′) and Jack McInerney (50′) paced Frank Klopas’s Montreal Impact to a 2-1 victory over FC Dallas at Stade Saputo in Montreal, Que. L’Impact return to action on May 30 against the Chicago Fire from Toyota Park in Bridgeview, Ill. Kickoff is scheduled for 8:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by MLS LIVE.

May 23, 2015; Commerce City, CO, USA; Colorado Rapids midfielder Lucas Pittinari (22) reacts after scoring a goal during the second half against the Vancouver FC at Dick

2. Colorado Rapids

On the continuing adventures of Pablo Mastroeni’s Colorado Rapids and Pablo’s Stache, Lucas Pittinari became the hero in the 51st minute to give Colorado a 1-0 win over the Vancouver Whitecaps at Dick’s Sporting Goods Park in Commerce City, Colo. Colorado are back in action on Mat 27 against the Seattle Sounders at CenturyLink Field in Seattle, Wash. Kickoff is scheduled for 8 p.m. MT/10 p.m. ET and will be televised by MLS LIVE. They will then return home on May 30 against the Portland Timbers. Kickoff is scheduled for 7 p.m. MT/9 p.m. ET and will be televised by MLS LIVE.

May 23, 2015; Seattle, WA, USA; Seattle Sounders FC forward Clint Dempsey (2) tosses his jersey to a fan after a game against Sporting Kansas City at CenturyLink Field. Seattle tied Kansas City 0-0. Mandatory Credit: Jennifer Buchanan-USA TODAY Sports

3. Seattle Sounders

Following a scoreless draw with Sporting Kansas City at CenturyLink Field, Sigi Schmid’s Seattle Sounders have a couple of games on the docket. On May 27, they host the Colorado Rapids. Kickoff is scheduled for 7 p.m. PT/10 p.m. ET and will be televised by MLS LIVE. On May 31, they will host the New York Red Bulls. Kickoff is scheduled for 2 p.m. PT/5 p.m. ET and be televised by ESPN2 and ESPN Deportes.

May 23, 2015; Seattle, WA, USA; Sporting Kansas City forward Krisztian Nemeth (9) reacts after missing a shot against the Seattle Sounders FC during the second half at CenturyLink Field. Mandatory Credit: Jennifer Buchanan-USA TODAY Sports

4. Sporting Kansas City

Peter Vermes’s Sporting Kansas City had a couple of matches this past week. On Wednesday at Sporting Park, they smashed the New England Revolution 4-2. Krisztian Nemeth led the way with a brace in the 39th and 46th minutes of play. Other goalscorers included Dom Dwyer (39′) and Benny Feilhaber (43′). On Saturday at CenturyLink Field, Sporting played to a scoreless draw against the Seattle Sounders. Sporting return to action on May 29 against FC Dallas at home. Kickoff is scheduled for 8 p.m. CT/9 p.m. ET and will be televised by UniMas.

May 24, 2015; San Jose, CA, USA; San Jose Earthquakes mascot “Q” holds a sign in recognition of forward Chris Wondolowski

5. San Jose Earthquakes

Chris Wondolowski became the ninth player to reach 100 career MLS goals as he equalized in the 68th minute to give Dominic Kinnear’s San Jose Earthquakes a 1-1 draw with Orlando City at Levi’s Stadium in Santa Clara, Calif. San Jose are back in action on May 30 against Toronto FC at BMO Field in Toronto, Ont. Kickoff is scheduled for 2 p.m. PT/5 p.m. ET and will be televised by MLS LIVE.

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse