Every LA Galaxy player's official salary in 2022

Chicharito is the second highest earner in MLS
Chicharito is the second highest earner in MLS / Shaun Clark/GettyImages

LA Galaxy have historically been one of the biggest spenders on players in MLS, and the 2022 version of the club is no different.

The MLS Players Association released their regular list of the league's salary details this week, with the Galaxy all the way up number two in spending – just behind Atlanta FC, and a spot ahead of the disappointing Inter Miami.

These salaries are all correct as of 15 April, the date that collection stopped before this week's release of the numbers.

All three of those teams will probably be leapfrogged by Toronto FC when Lorenzo Insigne's reported $15m a year is added to their current $15.21m payroll, which will also become the largest percentage of a team's wage bill taken up by a single player.

LA Galaxy will spend $20.13m on player salaries in 2022

The current leader in that top-heavy team construction is Chicago Fire and Xherdan Shaqiri, the Swiss star's $8.15m guaranteed this year breaking Zlatan Ibrahimovic's old MLS salary record of $7.3m, paid out by the Galaxy in 2019.

The Galaxy breaking the $20m barrier is notable after missing out on the playoffs with a $16.84m payroll figure at this point last year, showing further investment in the squad as the most successful team in MLS Cup history look to rebound from a disappointing campaign.

Javier 'Chicharito' Hernandez remains comfortably the club's highest earner on a number $6m a year, and the second highest earner in the league until the arrival of Lorenzo Insigne north of the border this summer.

While Hernandez has been at least partially justifying the money he's earning, the same can't be said of his fellow designated player Douglas Costa. The winger, just 31 years old, has provided two goals and not a single assist in his ten appearances in 2022, being outshone by a number of players earning just a fraction of his $3m this year.

1. Goalkeepers

Jonathan Bond – $526,875

Jonathan Klinsmann – $200,000

Richard Sanchez – $84,000

2. Defenders

Derrick Williams – $821,458

Julian Arango – $678,750

Jorge Villifana – $486,667

Sega Coulibaly – $457,000

Kelvin Leerdam – $335,000

Raheem Edwards – $307,500

Nick DePuy – $231,000

Marcus Ferkranus – $113,625

Jalen Neal – $113,625

Eriq Zavaleta – $84,000

3. Midfielders

Samuel Grandsir – $988,427

Rayan Raveloson – $855,025

Marco Delgado – $726,250

Efrain Alvarez – $712,167

Victor Vazquez – $440,000

Jonathan Perez – $171,750

Adam Saldana – $95,447

Sacha Kljestan – $84,000

Daniel Aguirre – $66,724

4. Forwards

Chicharito – $6,000,000

Douglas Costa – $3,000,000

Kevin Cabral – $1,650,000

Dejan Joveljic – $612,500

Cameron Dunbar – $136,750

Preston Judd – $65,500