Melbourne Victory logo.

View from the Melbourne Victory: November 16, 2013

Kevin Muscat’s Melbourne Victory were hoping for a much better performance on Saturday when they faced Tony Popovic’s Western Sydney Wanderers at Pirtek Stadium in Parramatta, NSW. Melbourne were coming off a tough 3-2 defeat to Sydney FC on the road at Allianz Stadium in Sydney and needed to be a bit more consistent defensively.

This past week, Midfielder Grant Brebner was named as the club’s first-ever ambassador. “It’s an absolute honour to be named as the first ambassador of this great club which has been such a big part of my life,” Brebner told the press. “With Victory’s ten year anniversary just around the corner, it’s certainly a very busy and exciting time to be a part of the club.

“We are in a great place, both on and off the pitch, and my appointment as ambassador will allow the club to be represented at major events and occasions that it would be logistically impossible for the players or coaches to otherwise attend.”

“Grant Brebner is a big part of this club’s history and has been heavily involved in some of our most history-defining moments,” added Melbourne Victory CEO Ian Robson, “We have seen Ian Rush and Robbie Fowler appointed to similar roles at Liverpool Football Club with great success and we can certainly see ‘Brebs’ taking on the same type of responsibilities here at Melbourne Victory.

“We are delighted to have Grant on board in this new role and know he will do an excellent job at representing Melbourne Victory throughout Australia and hopefully beyond.”

Western Sydney Wanderers v. Melbourne Victory
Saturday, November 16, 2013
Pirtek Stadium
Kick-off: 7:45pm
Live on Fox Sports 1 & ABC Grandstand
Live updates and breaking team news at our Facebook and our Twitter pages.
Official match hashtag is #WSWvMVC & #LikeNoOther

Melbourne Victory Squad: 1. Nathan COE (GK), 2. Pablo CONTRERAS, 3. Adama TRAORE, 4.Nick ANSELL, 6. Leigh BROXHAM, 7. Gui FINKLER, 10. Archie THOMPSON, 11. Connor PAIN, 13. Andrew NABBOUT, 14. James TROISI, 15. Mitch NICHOLS, 16. Rashid MAHAZI, 17. Jimmy JEGGO, 20. Lawrence THOMAS (GK), 22. Jesse MAKAROUNAS, 23. Adrian LEIJER, 24, Scott GALLOWAY. 25, Jason GERIA
**two to be omitted**

Ins: 17. Jimmy JEGGO, 4. Nick ANSELL, 22. Jesse MAKAROUNAS (all promoted)

Outs: 5. Mark MILLIGAN (international duty)

Unavailable: 9. Kosta BARBAROUSES, 5. Mark MILLIGAN (both on international duty)

Referee: Kris Griffiths-Jones
Assistant Referee 1: Lance Greenshields
Assistant Referee 2: Owen Goldrick
Fourth Official: Stephen Lucas

Victory would go on to drop their second straight game of the season, 1-0. Mark Bridge was the hero for the Wanderers in the 82nd minute thanks to the set up from Labinot Haliti. Melbourne return home on Nov. 23 to take on Adelaide United at Etihad Stadium in Melbourne. Kickoff is scheduled for 7:45 p.m. AEDT and will be televised by Fox Sports 1 in Australia and BT Sport 1 worldwide.

Western Sydney Match Completed Melb Victory
12 SHOTS 12
11 FOULS 8

Tags: Hyundai A-league Melbourne Victory

comments powered by Disqus