2013 MLS Power Rankings: Week 29

Another week of Major League Soccer action is done and dusted, and the Seattle Sounders top this week’s MLS Power Rankings. Now at the forefront of the Supporters’ Shield race, the onus is on Seattle to build on their results and get back to returning to CONCACAF Champions League action, something that a few teams will be returning to this week.

Sep 13, 2013; Seattle, WA, USA; Seattle Sounders FC midfielder Mauro Rosales (10, center) and forward Obafemi Martins (9) celebrate with teammates following a 2-0 victory against Real Salt Lake at CenturyLink Field. Mandatory Credit: Joe Nicholson-USA TODAY Sports

Movers? Check. Shakers? Check. Movers and shakers? Double check. Every item on the MLS Power Rankings checklist is checked, so let’s take a look.

1. Seattle Sounders

On Friday, Sigi Schmid’s Seattle Sounders delivered a 2-0 statement victory over Real Salt Lake at CenturyLink Field. Obafemi Martins (3′) and Lamar Neagle (38′) scored for the Sounders, who have a massive opportunity to consolidate their lead on Sept. 21 against the Los Angeles Galaxy at StubHub Center in Carson, Calif. Kickoff is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. PT/10:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by NBC Sports Network.

2. New York Red Bulls

Goals from Thierry Henry (32′) and Fabian Espindola (80′) paced Mike Petke’s New York Red Bulls to a 2-0 victory over Toronto FC at Red Bull Arena in Harrison, N.J. New York return to action on Sept. 22 at home against FC Dallas. Kickoff is scheduled for 5 p.m. ET and will be televised by UniMas

3. Colorado Rapids

Oscar Pareja’s Colorado Rapids took down FC Dallas by the score of 2-1 at Dick’s Sporting Goods Park in Commerce City, Colo. Down a goal, the Rapids rallied with a 59th-minute equalizer by Vicente Sanchez. Dallas’s Matt Hedges scored an own goal in the 65th minute to give Colorado all three points.

Up next for the Rapids is a match with the Portland Timbers on Sept. 20 at JELD-WEN Field in Portland, Ore. Kickoff is scheduled for 8 p.m. MT/10 p.m. ET and will be televised by NBC Sports.

4. Chicago Fire

Frank Klopas’s Chicago Fire took four out of six points this past week to move up in the Power Rankings. A goal from Dilly Duka in the 20th minute gave the Fire a 1-0 lead over Toronto FC at BMO Field in Toronto, Ont. but they couldn’t hold on and were consigned to a 1-1 draw.

Sep 14, 2013; Chicago, IL, USA; Chicago Fire midfielder Alex (71) is congratulated by his teammates after scoring the winning goal during the second half at Toyota Park.Chicago defeated New England 3-2. Mandatory Credit: Jasen Vinlove-USA TODAY Sports

On Saturday at Toyota Park in Bridgeview, Ill., the Fire delivered a 3-2 victory over the New England Revolution. Juan Luis Anangono (30′), Mike Magee (55′) and Alex (86′) paced the Fire to the win and will look to make a serious push for the playoffs on Sept. 21 against the Columbus Crew at Crew Stadium in Columbus, Ohio. Kickoff is scheduled for 6:30 p.m. CT/7:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by My50 Chicago.

5. Sporting Kansas City

Peter Vermes’s Sporting Kansas City were off this past week and are back in action on Sept. 17 against Real Esteli of Esteli, Nicaragua in CONCACAF Champions League play. Kickoff at Sporting Park is scheduled for 7 p.m. CT/8 p.m. ET and will be televised by Fox Soccer Plus.

Sporting will then return to league play on Sept. 21 against Toronto FC. Kickoff at BMO Field in Toronto, Ont. is scheduled for 3 p.m. CT/4 p.m. ET and will be televised by KSMO-TV.

6. Columbus Crew

Federico Higuain delivered for Robert Warzycha’s Columbus Crew in the second half against the Montreal Impact at Stade Saputo in Montreal, Que. Goals to Chad Marshall in the 66th minute and Dominic Oduro in the 78th minute propelled the Crew to a 2-1 come-from-behind victory over L’Impact. Columbus host the Chicago Fire at Crew Stadium on Sept. 21. Kickoff is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by FOX Sports Ohio.

7. Montreal Impact

Marco Di Vaio scored in the 23rd minute for Marco Schallibaum’s Montreal Impact, but they were smoked, 2-1, by the Columbus Crew at Stade Saputo.

Sep 14, 2013; Montreal, Quebec, CAN; Montreal Impact forward Marco Di Vaio (9) plays the ball against the Columbus Crew during the second half at Stade Saputo. Mandatory Credit: Eric Bolte-USA TODAY Sports

Two matches are on the way for L’Impact. In CONCACAF Champions League action on Sept. 17, Montreal travel to Buck Shaw Stadium on the campus of Santa Clara University in Santa Clara, Calif. to face the San Jose Earthquakes. Kickoff is scheduled for 10 p.m. ET and will be televised by Sportsnet and TVA Sports.

On Sept. 21, L’Impact return to league action when they host the Vancouver Whitecaps at Stade Saputo. Kickoff is scheduled for 2 p.m. ET and will be televised by RDS and TSN.

8. Real Salt Lake

After getting shut out 2-0 by the Seattle Sounders at CenturyLink Field, Jason Kreis’s Real Salt Lake will be picking up the pieces on Sept. 21, when they host the San Jose Earthquakes at Rio Tinto Stadium in Sandy, Utah. Kickoff is scheduled for 7 p.m. MT/9 p.m. ET and will be televised by CW30.

9. FC Dallas

Schellas Hyndman’s FC Dallas went up 1-0 on the Colorado Rapids at Dick’s Sporting Goods Park thanks to David Ferrera in the 51st minute. In the end, an own goal by Matt Hedges in the 65th minute was too much for the Hoops to overcome as they fell, 2-1. Dallas return to action on Sept. 22 against the New York Red Bulls at Red Bull Arena. Kickoff is scheduled for 4 p.m. CT/5 p.m. ET and will be televised by Time Warner Cable Sportsnet and UniMas.

10. Houston Dynamo

Sep 14, 2013; Chester, PA, USA; Philadelphia Union fans during against the Houston Dynamo during second half of game at PPL Park. The Dynamo defeated the Union, 1-0. Mandatory Credit: Eric Hartline-USA TODAY Sports

A 53rd-minute goal from Ricardo Clark propelled Dominic Kinnear’s Houston Dynamo to a 1-0 shutout win over the Philadelphia Union at PPL Park in Chester, Pa. The Men in Orange return home to BBVA Compass Stadium in Houston, Tex. to host Chivas USA on Sept. 21. Kickoff is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. CT/8:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by KPRC Local 2.

11. Los Angeles Galaxy

In spite of goals from Robbie Keane (7′) and Michael Stephens (81′), the defense of Bruce Arena’s Los Angeles Galaxy sunk to new lows in their 2-2 draw with D.C. United at RFK Stadium in Washington, D.C. It may not get any better defensively with LA’s toughest week up ahead.

The Galaxy host Isidro Metapan in CONCACAF Champions League Play on Sept. 18 at StubHub Center. Kickoff is scheduled for 7 p.m. PT/10 p.m. ET and will be televised by Fox Sports 2. On Sept. 21, a massive showdown between the Galaxy and the Seattle Sounders awaits. Kickoff at StubHub is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. PT/10:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by NBC Sports Network.

12. Portland Timbers

Sep 14, 2013; Carson, CA, USA; at StubHub Center. The Timbers and Chivas USA played to a 1-1 tie. Mandatory Credit: Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

Diego Valeri spared Caleb Porter’s Portland Timbers some Rose City blushes in the 50th minute as they fought to a 1-1 draw with Chivas USA at StubHub Center. The Timbers are back in action on Sept. 20 against the Colorado Rapids at JELD-WEN Field. Kickoff is scheduled for 7 p.m. PT/10 p.m. ET and will be televised by NBC Sports Network.

13. New England Revolution

Jay Heaps’s New England Revolution got goals from Kelyn Rowe (9′) and Saer Sene (45′ + 1′) but fell to a second-half rally from the Chicago Fire in their 3-2 defeat at Toyota Park. The Revs host D.C. United on Sept. 21 at Gillette Stadium in Foxborough, Mass. Kickoff is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by Comcast Sportsnet.

14. San Jose Earthquakes

Mark Watson’s San Jose Earthquakes settled for a scoreless draw with the Vancouver Whitecaps at Buck Shaw Stadium and will need to pick up the pieces this week with a couple of matches.

On Sept. 17, the Quakes return to CONCACAF Champions League action against the Montreal Impact. Kickoff is scheduled for 7 p.m. PT/10 p.m. ET and will be televised by FOX Sports 2. On Sept. 21, San Jose return to league place and travel to Rio Tinto Stadium to face Real Salt Lake. Kickoff is scheduled for 6 p.m. PT/9 p.m. ET and will be televised by Comcast Sportsnet.

15. Vancouver Whitecaps

Sep 14, 2013; Santa Clara, CA, USA; Vancouver Whitecaps defender Lee Young-Pyo (12) controls the ball against the San Jose Earthquakes during the second half at Buck Shaw Stadium. The San Jose Earthquakes tied the Vancouver FC 0-0. Mandatory Credit: Kelley L Cox-USA TODAY Sports

Following a scoreless draw with the San Jose Earthquakes at Buck Shaw Stadium, Martin Rennie’s Vancouver Whitecaps head to Stade Saputo on Sept. 21 to face the Montreal Impact. Kickoff is scheduled for 11 a.m. PT/2 p.m. ET and will be televised by TSN.

16. D.C. United

Ben Olsen’s D.C. United put on a brace performance in their 2-2 draw with the Los Angeles Galaxy at RFK Stadium. Chris Pontius (39′) and Kyle Porter (84′) scored for D.C., who are back in action on Sept. 21 against the New England Revolution at Gillette Stadium. Kickoff is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by Comcast Sportsnet.

17. Philadelphia Union

After a 1-0 shutout defeat to the Houston Dynamo at PPL Park, John Hackworth’s Philadelphia Union will aim to rebound on Sept. 27 against Sporting Kansas City after taking the week off. Kickoff is scheduled for 8 p.m. ET and will be televised by NBC Sports Network.

18. Toronto FC

Robert Earnshaw scored in the 23rd minute to give Ryan Nelsen’s Toronto FC a 1-1 draw with the Chicago Fire on Wednesday at BMO Field. They proceeded to get shut out 2-0 by the New York Red Bulls at Red Bull Arena on Saturday.

With no playoffs to look forward to, TFC look to next season on Sept. 21 against Sporting Kansas City at home. Kickoff is scheduled for 4 p.m. ET and will be televised by Sportsnet 360.

19. Chivas USA

Bryan de la Fuente scored for Jose Luis Real’s Chivas USA in the 23rd minute, but the Goats could not hold on in their 1-1 draw with the Portland Timbers at StubHub Center. Chivas travel to BBVA Compass Stadium on Sept. 21 to host the Houston Dynamo. Kickoff is scheduled for 5:30 p.m. PT/8:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by KDOC and KWHY.

Topics: Los Angeles Galaxy, Major League Soccer, Mls, Power Rankings

Want more from The View from Avalon?  
Subscribe to FanSided Daily for your morning fix. Enter your email and stay in the know.
Join The Discussion