Aug 17, 2013; Carson, CA, USA; Los Angeles Galaxy midfielder Landon Donovan (10) and Los Angeles Galaxy defender Omar Gonzalez (4) celebrate a goal in the second half against Real Salt Lake at the StubHub Center. Galaxy won 4-2. Mandatory Credit: Jayne Kamin-Oncea-USA TODAY Sports

2013 MLS Power Rankings: Week 25

The month of August hits the midway point, and the View from Avalon’s MLS Power Rankings has the Los Angeles Galaxy at the top once again. A massive goalkeeping bonanza has placed the defending MLS Cup Champions at the top of the ladder, while the chase for playoff position goes on.

Movers, shakers and more in this week’s MLS Power Rankings on the View from Avalon. Let’s go ahead and…take a look.

1. Los Angeles Galaxy

Bruce Arena’s Los Angeles Galaxy played with the heart and will of defending MLS Cup Champions in their 4-2 victory over Real Salt Lake at the StubHub Center in Carson, Calif. It was Robbie Keane who score a hat trick in the 56th, 67th and 86th minutes of play, with Omar Gonzales adding an insurance header in the 75th minute.

Los Angeles will have CONCACAF Champions League play against Club Sport Cartagines of Cartago, Costa Rica on Tuesday at StubHub Center. Kickoff is scheduled for 7 p.m. PT/10 p.m. ET and will be televised by Fox Soccer Plus. On Aug. 24, the Galaxy face the Vancouver Whitecaps at B.C. Place Stadium in Vancouver, B.C. Kickoff is scheduled for 6 p.m. PT/9 p.m. ET and will be televised by Time Warner Cable Sportsnet and Time Warner Cable Deportes.

2. Colorado Rapids

Oscar Pareja’s Colorado Rapids are flying high after their 2-0 shutout win over the Vancouver Whitecaps at Dick’s Sporting Goods Park in Commerce City, Colo. Deshorn Brown (36′) and Edson Buddle (79′) scored for the Rapids, who are back in action on Aug. 31 against Sporting Kansas City at Sporting Park in Kansas City, Kan. Kickoff is scheduled for 6:30 p.m. MT/8:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by Altitude.

3. Houston Dynamo

Take that, Clint Dempsey! Giles Barnes scored a brace in the 17th and 21st minutes and Will Bruin added a third in the 74th minute of play to give Dominic Kinnear’s Houston Dynamo a 3-1 victory over the Seattle Sounders at BBVA Compass Stadium in Houston, Tex.

Like Los Angeles, Houston have two matches on the way. In CONCACAF Champions League action, the Dynamo face W Connection of Marabella, Trinidad and Tobago. Kickoff at the Manny Ramjohn Stadium in Marabella is scheduled for 7 p.m. CT/8 p.m. ET and will be televised by FOX Sports 1. On Aug. 24, the Dynamo travel to Montreal, Que. to take on the Montreal Impact in league play. Kickoff is scheduled for 6 p.m. CT and will be televised by Comcast Sportsnet Plus.

4. Columbus Crew

Aug 17, 2013; Columbus, OH, USA; Columbus Crew forward Federico Higuain (33) passes the ball in the second half against the Toronto FC at Crew Stadium. Columbus won 2-0. Mandatory Credit: Rick Osentoski-USA TODAY Sports

Federico Higuain scored a brace in the 18th and 67th minutes to give Robert Warzycha’s Columbus Crew a 2-0 shutout win over Toronto FC at Crew Stadium in Columbus, Ohio. Columbus travel to Rio Tinto Stadium in Sandy, Utah to face Real Salt Lake. Kickoff is scheduled for 9:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by FOX Sports Ohio.

5. Philadelphia Union

John Hackworth’s Philadelphia Union played to a scoreless draw with the New York Red Bulls at Red Bull Arena in Harrison, N.J. and will continue their season on Aug. 25 against the New England Revolution at Gillette Stadium in Foxborough, Mass. Kickoff is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by Comcast Sportsnet.

6. Chicago Fire

The wheels might be falling off the Chicago Fire this late in the season. Manager Frank Klopas was set off in the Fire’s 2-0 defeat to the New England Revolution at Gillette Stadium. Klopas will most likely will be suspended for the Fire’s Aug. 23 contest with Sporting Kansas City at Toyota Park in Bridgeview, Ill. Kickoff is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. CT/8:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by NBC Sports.

7. New York Red Bulls

Mike Petke’s New York Red Bulls played to a scoreless draw with the Philadelphia Union at Red Bull Arena and will look to get back on the winning track on Aug. 25 against Chivas USA at StubHub Center. Kickoff is scheduled for 5 p.m. ET and will be televised by UniMas.

8. Portland Timbers

Aug 17, 2013; Portland, OR, USA; Portland Timbers mascot “Timber Joey” poses with a young fan during the second half of the game between the Portland Timbers and the FC Dallas at Jeld-Wen Field. The Timbers won the game 2-1. Mandatory Credit: Steve Dykes-USA TODAY Sports

Caleb Porter’s Portland Timbers got goals from Ryan Johnson (26′) and Darlington Nagbe (33′) in their 2-1 victory over FC Dallas at JELD-WEN Field in Portland, Ore. The Timbers return to action with a couple of matches. On Aug. 21, they host Real Salt Lake. Kickoff is scheduled for 8 p.m. PT/11 p.m. ET and will be televised by ROOT Sports. On Aug. 25, the Timbers travel to CenturyLink Field in Seattle, Wash. to face the Seattle Sounders. Kickoff is scheduled for 7 p.m. PT/10 p.m. ET and will be televised by ESPN2.

9. Seattle Sounders

Shalrie Joseph scored in the 65th minute but Sigi Schmid’s Seattle Sounders were smacked around, 3-1, by the Houston Dynamo at BBVA Compass Stadium. Seattle will look to bounce back on Aug. 25 against the Portland Timbers at CenturyLink Field. Kickoff is scheduled for 7 p.m. PT/10 p.m. ET and will be televised by ESPN2.

10. San Jose Earthquakes

Mark Watson’s San Jose Earthquakes are on the way on after a 1-0 shutout victory over Sporting Kansas City at Buck Shaw Stadium on the campus of Santa Clara University in Santa Clara, Calif. Chris Wondowlowski, who was celebrated during the match with bobbleheads, scored in the 55th minute of play. San Jose return to action on Aug. 24 against FC Dallas at FC Dallas Stadium in Frisco, Tex. Kickoff is scheduled for 6 p.m. PT/9 p.m. ET.

11. New England Revolution

Jun 15, 2013; Vancouver, British Columbia, CAN; New England Revolution forward Juan Agudelo (10) celebrates his goal against Vancouver Whitecaps goalkeeper Brad Knighton (18) (not pictured) during the first half at BC Place stadium. Mandatory Credit: Anne-Marie Sorvin-USA TODAY Sports

Jay Heaps’s New England Revolution got one of the finest goals of the season from Juan Agudelo in the 54th minute, as well as some insurance from Kelyn Rowe in the first minute of second half stoppage time, to prevail 2-0 over the Chicago Fire at Gillette Stadium. The Revs will host the Philadelphia Union on Aug. 25. Kickoff is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by Comcast Sportsnet.

12. Sporting Kansas City

Peter Vermes’s Sporting Kansas City were shut out 1-0 by the San Jose Earthquakes at Buck Shaw Stadium and will aim for a rebound on Aug. 23 against the Chicago Fire at Toyota Park. Kickoff is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. CT/8:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by NBC Sports.

13. Real Salt Lake

Jason Kreis’s Real Salt Lake got goals from Joao Plata in the 53rd minute and Robbie Findley in the fifth minute of second-half stoppage time but it wasn’t enough as RSL were blitzed by the Los Angeles Galaxy, 4-2, at StubHub Center.

Two matches are on the way for this club. RSL travel to JELD-WEN Field on Aug. 21 to take on the Portland Timbers. Kickoff is scheduled for 9 p.m. MT/11 p.m. ET and will be televised by CW30. On Aug. 24, Real Salt Lake hosts the Columbus Crew at Rio Tinto Stadium. Kickoff is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. MT and will also be televised by CW30.

14. Montreal Impact

Aug 17, 2013; Columbus, OH, USA; Columbus Crew forward Federico Higuain (33) dribbles the ball in the second half against the Toronto FC at Crew Stadium. Columbus won 2-0. Mandatory Credit: Rick Osentoski-USA TODAY Sports

Another big-name player that made it big this past weekend was Marco Di Vaio. His brace in the 43rd and 83rd minutes gave Marco Schallibaum’s Montreal Impact a 2-1 victory over D.C. United at Stade Saputo in Montreal, Que.

L’Impact have a couple of matches this week. On Aug. 21, they face C.D. Heredia Jaguares de Peten of San Jose, Guatemala in CONCACAF Champions League action. Kickoff at Estadio Julián Tesucún in San José is scheduled for 10 p.m. ET and will be televised by Sportsnet and TVA Sports.

15. Vancouver Whitecaps

Martin Rennie’s Vancouver Whitecaps were shut out 2-0 by the Colorado Rapids at DiCk’s Sporting Goods Park. However, they get a chance to redeem themselves with a home-cooking opportunity against the Los Angeles Galaxy at BC Place Stadium. Kickoff is scheduled for 6 p.m. PT/9 p.m. ET and will be televised by TSN 2.

16. Toronto FC

Ryan Nelsen’s Toronto FC were shut out 2-0 by the Columbus Crew at Crew Stadium and will look to get back on the winning track in a pillow fight with D.C. United at RFK Stadium in Washington, D.C. Kickoff is scheduled for 7 p.m. ET and will be televised by Sportsnet 360.

17. FC Dallas

Mauro Diaz opened up his scoring account for Schellas Hyndman’s FC Fallas in the 28th minute but they couldn’t build on their goal, falling to the Portland Timbers 2-1 at JELD-WEN Field. Dallas have two games on tap this week.

On Aug. 21, they engage in another pillow fight with Chivas USA at StubHub Center. Kickoff is scheduled for 9:30 p.m. CT/10:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by Time Warner Cable Sportsnet. On Aug. 24, FC Dallas return home to host the San Jose Earthquakes. Kickoff is scheduled for 8 p.m. CT/9 p.m. ET and will be televised by Time Warner Cable Sportsnet.

18. Chivas USA

Jose Luis Real’s Chivas USA were off this past week and will return to action with a couple of home matches at StubHub Center. On Aug. 21, they host FC Dallas. Kickoff is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. PT/10:30 p.m. ET and will be broadcast by W Radio 690 AM. On Aug. 25, the home stand continues with a match against the New York Red Bulls. Kickoff is scheduled for 2 p.m. PT/5 p.m. ET and will be televised by UniMas.

19. D.C. United

The season continues to get worse and worse for Ben Olsen’s D.C. United, who fell to the Montreal Impact, 2-1 at Stade Saputo. Conor Doyle scored for D.C. in the 81st minute of play. United return to action on Aug. 24 against Toronto FC at RFK Stadium. Kickoff is scheduled for 7 p.m. ET and will be televised by Comcast Sportsnet.

Tags: Los Angeles Galaxy Major League Soccer Mls Power Rankings

comments powered by Disqus