Aug 10, 2013; Chicago, IL, USA; Chicago Fire midfielder Logan Pause (12) reacts with the crowd after defeating Montreal at Toyota Park. Chicago defeats Montreal 2-1. Mandatory Credit: Mike DiNovo-USA TODAY Sports

2013 MLS Power Rankings: Week 24


In this week’s MLS Power Rankings, the surprising Chicago Fire rise to the top, while the resurging Seattle Sounders also make waves. Movers, shakers, everything in between. The MLS Power Rankings on the View from Avalon has it all…and then some. Let’s take a look.

1. Chicago Fire

Frank Klopas’s Chicago Fire move to the top of this week’s MLS Power Rankings after a 2-1 victory over the Montreal Impact at Toyota Park in Bridgeview, Ill. Joel Lindpere (6′) and Dilly Duka (23′) scored for the Fire, who return to action on Aug. 17 against the New England Revolution at Gillette Stadium in Foxborough, Mass. Kickoff is scheduled for 6:30 p.m. CT/7:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by My50 Chicago.

2. Seattle Sounders

Clint Dempsey was on showcase for Sigi Schmid’s Seattle Sounders, who defeated Toronto FC 2-1 at BMO Field in Toronto, Ont. Mauro Rosales opened up the scoring in the 16th minute and it seemed Dempsey would open up his scoring account minutes in, but Doneil Henry ended up deflecting his cross for an own goal.

Dempsey will hope to break through on Aug. 17, when the Sounders trabel to BBVA Compass Stadium in Houston, Tex. to face the Houston Dynamo. Kickoff is scheduled for 6 p.m. PT/9 p.m. ET and will be televised by KONG 6/16 and KOMO2.

3. Sporting Kansas City

Peter Vermes started their CONCACAF Champions League run on the right track on Aug. 7 against Real Esteli of Esteli, Nicaragua. Goals from Ike Opara (31′) and Dom Dwyer (76′) paced Sporting to a 2-0 win over Esteli. On Aug. 10, it was business as usual as Sporting shut out a New England Revolution side that played down to nine men, 3-0. Kei Kamara scored a brace in the 27th and 50th minutes, while Benny Feilhaber added a third in the second minute of second half stoppage time.

Aug 10, 2013; Kansas City, KS, USA; Sporting KC fans reacts as New England Revolution player Dimitry Imbongo Boele (not pictured) walks off the field after receiving a red card during the second half at Sporting Park. Mandatory Credit: Sporting KC won 3-0. Peter G. Aiken-USA TODAY Sports

Up next for Sporting is a match on Aug. 18 against the San Jose Earthquakes at Buck Shaw Stadium on the campus of Santa Clara University in Santa Clara, Calif. Kickoff is scheduled for 9 p.m. CT/10 p.m. ET and will be televised by Univision Deportes and KSMO-TV.

4. Los Angeles Galaxy

Bruce Arena’s Los Angeles Galaxy got a hat trick from Landon Donovan in the first minute of first half injury time, the 73rd and 82nd minutes but the defense couldn’t pull its weight in LA’s 3-3 draw with FC Dallas at FC Dallas Stadium in Frisco, Tex.

A major question that must be answer this week is whether or not Jaime Penedo will be activated in goal on Aug. 17 against Real Salt Lake at the StubHub Center in Carson, Calif. All will be revealed in due time, it seems. Kickoff is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. PT/10:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by Time Warner Cable Sportnet and Time Warner Cable Deportes.

5. Philadelphia Union

A Conor Casey brace in the 35th and 75th minutes gave John Hackworth’s Philadelphia Union a 2-0 victory over D.C. United at PPL Park in Chester, Pa. The Union will look to bolster their chances at the postseason some more on Aug. 17 against the New York Red Bulls at Red Bull Arena in Harrison, N.J. Kickoff is scheduled for 8 p.m. ET and will be televised by NBC Sports Network.

6. Colorado Rapids

Martin Rivero spared Oscar Pareja’s Colorado Rapids some major league blushed on Sunday night in the 80th minute, as the Rapids played down to 10 men in a 1-1 draw with Chivas USA at StubHub Center. Colorado return to action on Aug. 17 against the Vancouver Whitecaps at Dick’s Sporting Goods Park in Commerce City, Colo. Kickoff is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. MT/9:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by Altitude.

7. New York Red Bulls

Aug 10, 2013; Philadelphia, PA, USA; Philadelphia Union fans celebrate goal against D.C. United during the second half at PPL Park. The Union defeated D.C. United, 2-0. Mandatory Credit: Eric Hartline-USA TODAY Sports

Mike Petke’s New York Red Bulls take a massive slide down the Power Rankings after getting shut out, 2-0, by the Columbus Crew at Crew Stadium in Columbus, Ohio. New York are back in action on Aug. 17 against the Philadelphia Union at Red Bull Arena. Kickoff is scheduled for 8 p.m. ET and will be televised by NBC Sports.

8. Real Salt Lake

Alvaro Saborio’s 37th-minute penalty heroics gave Jason Kreis’s Real Salt Lake a 1-0 victory over the Houston Dynamo at Rio Tinto Stadium in Sandy, Utah. The final match of the series between RSL and the Los Angeles Galaxy takes place on Aug. 17 at StubHub Center. Kickoff is scheduled for 8:30 p.m. MT/10:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by ABC4.

9. Vancouver Whitecaps

Camilo (60′) and Kenny Miller (74′) were on point as Martin Rennie’s Vancouver Whitecaps shut out the San Jose Earthquakes 2-0 at BC Place Stadium in Vancouver, B.C. The Caps return to action on Aug. 17 against the Colorado Rapids. Kickoff is scheduled for 6:30 p.m. PT/9:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by Dick’s Sporting Goods Park.

10. Houston Dynamo

Dominic Kinnear’s Houston Dynamo were shut out at home, 1-0, by Real Salt Lake and will hope for a much better effort at BBVA Compass Stadium on Aug. 17 against the Seattle Sounders. Kickoff is scheduled for 8 p.m. CT/9 p.m. ET and will be televised by Comcast Sportsnet Plus.

11. Columbus Crew

Aug 10, 2013; Columbus, OH, USA; Columbus Crew fans celebrate the second goal of the game against the New York Red Bulls at Crew Stadium. Columbus won the game 2-0. Mandatory Credit: Greg Bartram-USA TODAY Sports

In the words of Duncan Oughton, “Yeah, buddy.” Robert Warzycha’s Columbus Crew are making a move up after a Federico Higuain brace (62′, 76′) gave Columbus a massive 2-0 victory over the New York Red Bulls at Crew Stadium. Columbus return to action on Aug. 17 at home against Toronto FC in the Battle for the Trillium Cup. Kickoff is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by FOX Sports Ohio.

12. Portland Timbers

Caleb Porter’s Portland Timbers were off this past week. Up next for the Timbers is a match with FC Dallas on Aug. 17. Kickoff at JELD-WEN Field in Portland, Ore. is scheduled for 8 p.m. PT/11 p.m. ET and will be televised by KPDX.

13. Toronto FC

Jonathan Osorio continued his hotstreak in the 46th minute against the Seattle Sounders, but it was not enough as Ryan Nelsen’s Toronto FC fell, 2-1, to Seattle at BMO Field. Up next for the Reds is their derby match with the Columbus Crew at Crew Stadium. Kickoff is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by Sportsnet One.

14. FC Dallas

Blas Perez earned a brace in the 48th and 86th minute and Matt Hedges opened up the scoring in the 15th minute of play, but Schellas Hyndman’s FC Dallas were undone by a clanger by Jackson in stoppage time that consigned the hosts to a 3-3 draw with the Los Angeles Galaxy at FC Dallas Stadium.

The Hoops will aim to build on their breakthrough result on Aug. 17 against the Portland Timbers at JELD-WEN Field. Kickoff is scheduled for 10 p.m. CT/11 p.m. ET and will be televised by TXA 21.

Aug 11, 2013; Frisco, TX, USA; The FC Dallas fans root for their team during match between FC Dallas and the Los Angeles Galaxy at FC Dallas Stadium. The match ended in a 3-3 draw. Mandatory Credit: Jerome Miron-USA TODAY Sports

15. San Jose Earthquakes

Of all the teams that didn’t deliver this week, Mark Watson’s San Jose Earthquakes may top them all. Not only were they shut out 1-0 by the Montreal Impact at Stade Saputo in Montreal, Que. to start CONCACAF Champions League play, they were shut out 2-0 by the Vancouver Whitecaps at BC Place Stadium in league play.

In spite of the string of setbacks, this is a San Jose team that is capable of being in the clutch when it matters most, and they get their chance on Aug. 18 against Sporting Kansas City at Buck Shaw Stadium. Kickoff is scheduled for 7 p.m. PT/10 p.m. ET and will be televised by Comcast Sportsnet.

16. New England Revolution

Jay Heaps’s New England Revolution move down after getting walloped 3-0 by Sporting Kansas City at Sporting Park. The Revs will look to get on the rebound on Aug. 17 against the Chicago Fire. Kickoff at Gillette Stadium is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by Comcast Sportsnet.

17. Montreal Impact

Marco Schallibaum’s Montreal Impact had a hit-and-miss week. On Aug. 7, Hassoun Camara’s 16th-minute heroics gave L’Impact a 1-0 victory over the San Jose Earthquakes at Stade Saputo to open CONCACAF Champions League play. Felip Martins scored for Montreal on Aug. 10 against the Chicago Fire, but the rally fell short as they fell, 2-1, at Toyota Park.

August 11, 2013; Carson, CA, USA; Chivas USA in attendance throw confetti as they cheer against Colorado Rapids during the second half at StubHub Center. Mandatory Credit: Gary A. Vasquez-USA TODAY Sports

Montreal return to action on Aug. 17 against D.C. United at Stade Saputo. Kickoff is scheduled for 7 p.m. ET and will be scheduled by RDS and TSN 2.

18. Chivas USA

Carlos Alvarez’s scoring form continued in the fifth minute of play as Jose Luis Real’s Chivas USA played down to nine men in their 1-1 draw with the Colorado Rapids at StubHub Center. Chivas will take the week off before having a couple of matches on the docket.

On Aug. 21, FC Dallas comes into town. Kickoff is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. PT/10:30 p.m. ET and will be broadcast by W Radio 690 AM. On AUg. 25, the Goats clash with the New York Red Bulls at home. Kickoff is scheduled for 2 p.m. PT/5 p.m. ET and will be televised by UniMas.

19. D.C. United

That didn’t take long. Welcome back to the cellar, Ben Olsen’s D.C. United, who were subdued by the Philadelphia Union, 2-0, at PPL Park this past weekend. Will they get out of it again? One way to find out: tune in on Aug. 17, when D.C. travels to Stade Saputo to take on the Montreal Impact in a glorified pillow fight. Kickoff is scheduled for 7 p.m. ET and will be televised by CSN.

Tags: Featured Los Angeles Galaxy Major League Soccer Mls Popular Power Rankings

Join The Discussion