2013 MLS Power Rankings: Week 20

In this week’s Power Rankings, the Vancouver Whitecaps have hit their stride and hit the top spot in our MLS Power Rankings here on the View from Avalon. Also making a move up are Real Salt Lake and the Portland Timbers. Meanwhile, the Los Angeles Galaxy slide down after letting another one get away late.

Jul 14, 2013; Vancouver, British Columbia, CAN; Vancouver Whitecaps defender Brad Rusin (3) is congratulated by Vancouver Whitecaps fans atfter the second half against the Chicago Fire at BC Place Stadium. The Vancouver Whitecaps won 3-1.Mandatory Credit: Anne-Marie Sorvin-USA TODAY Sports

Movers, shakers and more. We have it all on the View from Avalon’s MLS Power Rankings.

1. Vancouver Whitecaps

Camilo Sanvezzo scored a brace in the 66th and 71st minutes to give Martin Rennie’s Vancouver Whitecaps a 3-1 victory over the Chicago Fire on Sunday at BC Place Stadium in Vancouver, B.C. Kekuta Manneh also scored in the 84th minute of play.

Vancouver hit the road on Jul. 20 against the Los Angeles Galaxy at the StubHub Center in Carson, Calif. Kickoff is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. PT/10:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by City TV and Sportsnet Pacific.

2. Real Salt Lake

Goals from Javier Morales (39′), Ned Grabavoy (79′) and Olmes Garcia (90′) paced Jason Kreis’s Real Salt Lake to a 3-0 shutout win over FC Dallas on Saturday at FC Dallas Stadium in Frisco, Tex. Up next for RSL is a match with Sporting Kansas City on Jul. 20 at Rio Tinto Stadium in Sandy, Utah. Kickoff is scheduled for 8 p.m. MT/10 p.m. ET and will be televised by CW30.

3. Portland Timbers

Caleb Porter’s Portland Timbers rallied back with goals from Ryan Johnson (27′) and Andrew John-Baptiste (94′) to prevail, 2-1, over the Los Angeles Galaxy at JELD-WEN Field in Portland, Ore. More magic could be on the way on Jul. 20 at PPL Park in Chester, Pa. against the Philadelphia Union. Kickoff is scheduled for 4:30 p.m. PT/7:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by KPDX.

4. Colorado Rapids

Jul 13, 2013; Portland, OR, USA; Portland Timbers forward/midfielder Ryan Johnson (9) and teammate defender Andrew Jean-Baptiste (35) raise Timbers

Oscar Pareja’s Colorado Rapids were off this past week. On Jul. 17, they face the New England Revolution at Dick’s Sporting Goods Park in Commerce City, Colo. Kickoff is scheduled for 7 p.m. MT/9 p.m. ET and will be televised by Altitude. On Jul. 20, the Rapids travel to Seattle, Wash. and CenturyLink Field to face the Seattle Sounders. Kickoff is scheduled for 2 p.m. MT/4 p.m. ET and will be televised by Altitude.

5. Sporting Kansas City

Peter Vermes’s Sporting Kansas City got a brace from Soony Saad (21′, 51′) en route to a 3-0 victory over Toronto FC at Sporting Park in Kansas City, Kan. Claudio Bieler also scored for Sporting in the 63rd minute of play. Sporting travel to Rio Tinto Stadium on Jul. 20 to face Real Salt Lake. Kickoff is scheduled for 9 p.m. CT/10 p.m. ET and will be televised by KSMO-TV.

6. New York Red Bulls

Mike Petke’s New York Red Bulls were on point in their 4-0 shuitout victory over the Montreal Impact at Red Bull Arena in Harrison, N.J. Eric Alexander (10′), Thierry Henry (16′), Tim Cahill (63′) and Peguy Luyindula (88′) were in on goal for New York, who return to league action on Jul. 20 at home against Toronto FC. Kickoff is scheduled for 4 p.m. ET and will be televised by MSG.

7. Los Angeles Galaxy

Despite a 17th minute goal from Marcelo Sarvas, Bruce Arena’s Los Angeles Galaxy let another game getaway, falling to the Portland Timbers on the road, 2-1, at JELD-WEN Field. It’s not going to get any easier for the Galaxy, who host the Vancouver Whitecaps at StubHub Center on Jul. 20. Kickoff is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. PT/10:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by Time Warner Cable Sportsnet.

8. Houston Dynamo

Jul 13, 2013; Foxborough, MA, USA; Houston Dynamo midfielder Adam Moffat (16) celebrates his second goal of the game with teammate midfielder Boniek Garcia (27) as they take on the New England Revolution in the second half at Gillette Stadium. The Houston Dynamo defeated the New England Revolution 2-1. Mandatory Credit: David Butler II-USA TODAY Sports

Dominic Kinnear’s Houston Dynamo have their swagger back after their 2-1 victory over the New England Revolution at Gillette Stadium in Foxborough, Mass. An Adam Moffat brace in the 49th and 79th minutes told the story for the Dynamo, who continue their season on Jul. 27 against the Chicago Fire at BBVA Compass Stadium in Houston, Tex. Kickoff is scheduled for 8 p.m. CT/9 p.m. ET and will be televbised by NBC Sports Network.

9. New England Revolution

Saer Sene equalized in the 55th minute, but it was not enough as Jay Heaps’s New England Revolution fell, 2-1, against the Houston Dynamo at Gillette Stadium.

The Revs have a couple of matches this week. On Jul. 17, they hit the road to face the Colorado Rapids at Dick’s Sporting Goods Park. Kickoff is scheduled for 9 p.m. ET and will be televised by Comcast Sportnet. On July 20, the road trip continues with a match against the Columbus Crew at Crew Stadium in Columbus, Ohio. Kickoff is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by Comcast Sportsnet.

10. Chicago Fire

Despite a goal in the 94th minute from Patrick Nyarko, Frank Klopas’s Chicago Fire were cooled by the Vancouver Whitecaps at BC Place Stadium, 3-1. Chicago host D.C. United at Toyota Park in Bridgeview, Ill. on Jul. 20. Kickoff is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. CT/8:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by My50 Chicago.

11. Philadelphia Union

Down a goal, John Hackworth’s Philadelphia Union rallied with goals from Brian Carroll (58′), Michael Farfan (82′) and Conor Casey (89′) to down Chivas USA, 3-1, at PPL Park. They host the Portland Timbers on Jul. 20. Kickoff is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by Comcast Sportsnet.

12. San Jose Earthquakes

The Goonies, a.k.a. Mark Watson’s San Jose Earthquakes, saw Walter Martinez deliver the goods in the 48th minute for a 1-0 victory over the Seattle Sounders at Buck Shaw Stadium on the campus of Santa Clara University in Santa Clara, Calif. San Jose return to league action on Jul. 27 against the Portland Timbers at home. Kickoff is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. PT and will be televised by Comcat Sportsnet.

13. Columbus Crew

Jul 13, 2013; Santa Clara, CA, USA; San Jose Earthquakes forward Alan Gordon (24) high fives fans after the win against the Seattle Sounders FC at Buck Shaw Stadium. The San Jose Earthquakes defeated the Seattle Sounders FC 1-0. Mandatory Credit: Kelley L Cox-USA TODAY Sports

Robert Warzycha’s Columbus Crew were off this past week and will return to action on Jul. 20 against the New England Revolution. Kickoff is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by FOX Sports Ohio.

14. Seattle Sounders

Sigi Schmid’s Seattle Sounders were shut out 1-0 by the San Jose Earthquakes at Buck Shaw Stadium and will look to rebound on Jul. 20 against the Colorado Rapids at CenturyLink Field. Kickoff is scheduled for 1 p.m. PT/4 p.m. ET and will be broadcast by KONG 6/16 and KOMO2.

15. FC Dallas

Schellas Hyndman’s FC Dallas continued their free fall, dropping a 3-0 decision to Real Salt Lake at home on Saturday. Dallas continue their season on Jul. 20 against the Montreal Impact at Stade Saputo in Montreal, Que. Kickoff is scheduled for 6 p.m. CT/7 p.m. ET and will be televised by Time Warner Cable Sportsnet.

16. Montreal Impact

Marco Schallibaum’s Montreal Impact are hitting on hard times after their 4-0 shutout defeat to the New York Red Bulls on the road. L’Impact will look to bounce back on Jul. 20 at Stade Saputo against FC Dallas. Kickoff is scheduled for 7 p.m. ET and will be broadcast online on CJAD.com.

17. Toronto FC

After a 3-0 shutout defeat to Sporting Kansas City on the road at Sporting Park, Ryan Nelson’s Toronto FC will look to get back on the winning track with a couple of matches this week. On Jul. 17, they face Chivas USA at the StubHub Center. Kickoff is scheduled for 10:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by TSN 2. On Jul. 20, they host the New York Red Bulls. Kickoff is scheduled for 4 p.m. ET and will be televised by TSN.

18. Chivas USA

Jose Correa scored in the 14th minute but Jose Luis Real’s Chivas USA were routed, 3-1, by the Philadelphia Union on the road. The Goats host Toronto FC on Jul. 17. Kickoff is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. PT/10:30 p.m. ET and will be broadcast by W Radio 690 AM.

19. D.C. United

Ben Olsen’s D.C. United were off this past week. They hit the road on Jul. 20 against the Chicago Fire. Kickoff is scheduled for 8:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by Comcast Sportsnet.

Topics: Los Angeles Galaxy, Major League Soccer, Mls, Power Rankings

Want more from The View from Avalon?  
Subscribe to FanSided Daily for your morning fix. Enter your email and stay in the know.
Join The Discussion