May 25, 2013; Washington, DC, USA; Portland Timbers midfielder Kalif Alhassan (11) attempts to control the ball with his leg during the second half against the D.C. United at RFK Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Paul Frederiksen-USA TODAY Sports

2013 MLS Power Rankings: Week 13


In this week’s MLS Power Rankings, the Portland Timbers move to the very top after pulling out an impressive victory over the team at the bottom of the rankings, D.C. United. Making a move up the rankings are the Los Angeles Galaxy, who pulled out a statement victory over Seattle. All this and more in this week’s MLS Power Rankings on the View from Avalon.

1. Portland Timbers

Caleb Porter’s Portland Timbers shut out D.C. United, 2-0 at RFK Stadium in Washington, D.C. Goals from Rodney Wallace (21′) and Darlington Nagbe (57′) paced the Timbers, who have U.S. Open Cup action on May 29 against the Wilmington Hammerheads. Kickoff at JELD-WEN Field in Portland, Ore. is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. PT/10:30 p.m. ET. Portland’s next league game is Jun. 8 against the Chicago Fire at Toyota Park in Bridgeview, Ill. Kickoff is scheduled for 5:30 p.m. PT/8:30 p.m. ET.

2. FC Dallas

A goal from Fabian Castillo in the 33rd minute gave Schellas Hyndman’s FC Dallas a 1-0 victory over the San Jose Earthquakes at FC Dallas Stadium in Frisco, Tex. The Hoops travel to Lockhart Stadium in Fort Lauderdale, Fla. to take on the Fort Lauderdale Strikers in U.S. Open Cup play on May 28. Kickoff is scheduled for 6:30 p.m. CT/7:30 p.m. ET. On Jun. 1, FC Dallas travel to Dick’s Sporting Goods Park in Commerce City, Colo. to take on the Colorado Rapids. Kickoff is scheduled for 8 p.m. CT/9 p.m. ET and will be televised by Time Warner Cable SportsNet.

3. New York Red Bulls

Equalizers from Thierry Henry (31′) and Jamison Olave (90′ + 1′) paced Mike Petke’s New York Red Bulls to a 2-2 draw with the Columbus Crew at Red Bull Arena in Harrison, N.J. New York will host Reading United in U.S. Open Cup play on May 29. Kickoff is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. ET. On Jun. 1, the home stand continues when they host the Vancouver Whitecaps. Kickoff is scheduled for 7 p.m. ET and will be televised by MSG.

4. Montreal Impact

May 25, 2013; Montreal, Quebec, CAN; Montreal Impact fans celebrate during the second half against Philadelphia Union at the Stade Saputo. Mandatory Credit: Jean-Yves Ahern-USA TODAY Sports

A Marco Di Vaio hat trick in the second, 28th and 32nd minute was more than enough for Marco Schallibaum’s Montreal Impact in their 5-3 victory over the Philadelphia Union at Stade Saputo in Montreal, Que. Also scoring for L’Impact were Andrew Wenger (74′) and Blake Smith (90′ + 4′). Montreal will wrap up their Canadian Championship run on May 29 against the Vancouver Whitecaps at B.C. Place Stadium in Vancouver, B.C. Kickoff is scheduled for 10 p.m. ET and will be televised by Sportsnet and TVA Sports. On Jun 1, Montreal travel to Sporting Park to face off against Sporting Kansas City. Kickoff is scheduled for 8:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by TVA Sports.

5. Real Salt Lake

Alvaro Saborio’s 78th minute goal gave Jason Kreis’s Real Salt Lake a 1-1 draw with the Chicago Fire at Rio Tinto Stadium in Sandy, Utah. On May 28, Real Salt Lake will host the Atlanta Silverbacks in U.S. Open Cup play. Kickoff is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. MT/9:30 p.m. PT and will be broadcast via radio on ESPN 700. On Jun. 1, the home stand continues when the San Jose Earthquakes come into town. Kickoff is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. MT/9:30 p.m. PT and will be televised by ABC4.

6. Sporting Kansas City

Kei Kamara’s 68th-minute equalizer gave Peter Vermes’s Sporting Kansas City a 1-1 draw with the Houston Dynamo at Sporting Park in Kansas City, Kan. Sporting host the Des Moines Menace on May 28 in U.S. Open Cup play. Kickoff is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. CT/8:30 p.m. ET. On Jun. 1, the home stand continues when they host the Montreal Impact. Kickoff is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. CT/8:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by KSMO-TV.

7. Vancouver Whitecaps

May 26, 2013; Carson, CA, USA; Los Angeles Galaxy midfielder Robbie Rogers (14) meets with fans following the 4-0 victory against the Seattle Sounders at Home Depot Center. Mandatory Credit: Gary A. Vasquez-USA TODAY Sports

Martin Rennie’s Vancouver Whitecaps were off this week. They return to action on May 29 in the second leg of the Canadian Championship against Montreal at home. Kickoff is scheduled for 7 p.m. PT/10 p.m. ET and will be televised by Sportsnet One. On June 1, Vancouver travel to Red Bull Arena to take on the New York Red Bulls. Kickoff is scheduled for 4 p.m. PT/7 p.m. ET and will be televised by Sportsnet Pacific.

8. Los Angeles Galaxy

Marco Di Vaio wasn’t the only play scoring a hat trick. Robbie Keane delivered one in the 24th, 34th and 44th minute as Bruce Arena’s Los Angeles Galaxy cruised past the Seattle Sounders, 4-0, at the Home Depot Center in Carson, Calif. Also scoring for the Galaxy was Sean Franklin in the 12th minute. The Galaxy will have their shot at revenge against the Carolina RailHawks on May 29 at WakeMed Soccer Park in Cary, N.C. Kickoff is scheduled for 4 p.m. PT/7 p.m. ET. On Jun 2, the road trip continues for LA when they travel to Gillette Stadium in Foxborough, Mass. to take on the New England Revolution. Kickoff is scheduled for 1:30 p.m. PT/4:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by NBC Sports Network.

9. New England Revolution

Jay Heaps’s New England Revolution got goals from Diego Fagundez (23′) and Juan Agudelo (90′ + 3′) en route to a 2-0 victory over Toronto FC at Gillette Stadium. On May 28, New England travel to Sahlen’s Stadium in Rochester, N.Y. to clash with the Rochester Rhinos in U.S. Open Cup play. Kickoff is scheduled for 7:35 p.m. ET. On Jun. 2, the Revs return home to host the Los Angeles Galaxy. Kickoff is scheduled for 4:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by NBC Sports.

10. Seattle Sounders

May 25, 2013; Commerce City, CO, USA; Colorado Rapids defender Marvell Wynne (22) reacts back after the win over Chivas USA Dick

Sigi Schmid’s Seattle Sounders were missing Osvaldo Alonso and by the end of their 4-0 defeat to the Los Angeles Galaxy at the Home Depot Center, they were missing Shalrie Joseph, too. The Sounders will need to get back into focus when they travel to Al Lang Stadium in St. Petersburg, Fla. to take on the Tampa Bay Rowdies in U.S. Open Cup play. Kickoff is scheduled for 4:30 p.m. PT/7:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by SoundersFC.com. On Jun. 1, they return to the now-renamed StubHub Center to take on Chivas USA. Kickoff is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. PT/10:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by KONG 6/16 and KOMO2.

11. Colorado Rapids

Oscar Pareja’s Colorado Rapids got goals from Atiba Harris (11′) and Nathan Sturgis (78′) en route to a 2-0 victory over Chivas USA at Dick’s Sporting Goods Park. The Rapids travel to the Citrus Bowl in Orlando, Fla. to take on Orlando City on May 28 in U.S. Open Cup play. Kickoff is scheduled for 5:30 p.m. MT/7:30 p.m. ET. On Jun 1, the Rapids host FC Dallas. Kickoff is scheduled for 7 p.m. MT/9 p.m. ET and will be televised by Altitude.

12. Columbus Crew

Despite goals from Dominic Oduro (2′) and Federico Higuain (74′), Robert Warzycha’s Columbus Crew were consigned to a 2-2 draw with the New York Red Bulls at Red Bull Arena. The Crew will host the Dayton Dutch Lions on May 29 at Crew Stadium in Columbus, Ohio. Kickoff is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. ET and will be broadcast by TheCrew.com. On Jun. 1, Columbus continue their home stand against the Houston Dynamo. Kickoff is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by FOX Sports Ohio.

13. Houston Dynamo

May 18, 2013; Houston, TX, USA; Houston Dynamo mascot Diesel greets fans during the second half against the New England Revolution at BBVA Compass Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Troy Taormina-USA TODAY Sports

Brad Davis gave Dominic Kinnear’s Houston Dynamo a 1-0 lead 46 minute in but they could not hang on and were consigned to a 1-1 draw with Sporting Kansas City at Sporting Park. Houston return to action on May 29 when they host FC Tucson at BBVA Compass Stadium in U.S. Open Cup action. Kickoff is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. CT/8:30 p.m. ET and will be broadcast via radio by 1560 AM and 850 AM. On Jun, 1, the Dynamo travel to Crew Stadium to take on the Columbus Crew. Kickoff is scheduled for 6:30 p.m. CT/7:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by Comcast SportsNet 2 and Mega TV.

14. Chicago Fire

Quincy Amarikwa’s late equalizer in the 84th minute was enough to salvage a 1-1 draw for Frank Klopas’s Chicago Fire against Real Salt Lake at Rio Tinto Stadium. Chicago will travel to Rock Hill, S.C. and Winthrop University’s Eagle Field to take on the Charlotte Eagles in U.S. Open Cup play. Kickoff is scheduled for 6 p.m. CT/7 p.m. ET and will be televised by Chicago-Fire.com. On Jun. 2, the Fire host D.C. United at Toyota Park in Bridgeview, Ill. Kickoff is scheduled for 4 p.m. CT and will be televised by My50 Chicago.

15. San Jose Earthquakes

Frank Yallop’s San Jose Earthquakes were shutout 1-0 by FC Fallas at FC Dallas Stadium and will look to bounce back when they begin U.S. Open Cup play on May 28 against the Charleston Battery at Blackbaud Stadium in Charleston, S.C. Kickoff is scheduled for 4:30 p.m. PT/7:30 p.m. ET. On Jun. 1, San Jose travel to Rio Tinto Stadium to face Real Salt Lake. Kickoff is scheduled for 6:30 p.m. PT/9:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by Comcast SportsNet.

16. Philadelphia Union

May 25, 2013; Dallas, TX, USA; FC Dallas defender George John (14) celebrates with fans after the game against the San Jose Earthquakes at FC Dallas Stadium. FC Dallas won 1-0. Mandatory Credit: Tim Heitman-USA TODAY Sports

Despite goals from Jack McInerney (5′), Antoine Hoppenot (69′) and Sebastien Le Toux (85′), John Hackworth’s Philadelphia Union were blitzed by the Montreal Impact, 5-3, at Stade Saputo. The Union will hope for a more inspired performance against the Ocean City Nor’Easters on May 28 at PPL Park in Chester, Pa. Kickoff is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. ET. On Jun. 1, the Union travel to BMO Field in Toronto, Ont. to take on Toronto FC. Kickoff is scheduled for 6 p.m. ET and will be televised by The Comcast Network.

17. Toronto FC

Ryan Nelsen’s Toronto FC were shut out 2-0 by the New England Revolution at Gillette Stadium and will hope to bounce back on Jun. 1, when they host the Philadelphia Union at BMO Field. Kickoff is scheduled for 6 p.m. ET and will be televised by TSN 2.

18. Chivas USA

Jose Luis Sanchez Sola’s Chivas USA were shut out 2-0 by the Colorado Rapids and will need to clean up their act when they travel to Titan Stadium on the campus of California State University, Fullerton in Fullerton, Calif. to take on the Los Angeles Blues in U.S. Open Cup play. Kickoff is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. PT/10:30 p.m. ET. On Jun. 1, the Goats host the Seattle Sounders at the StubHub Center in Carson, Calif. Kickoff is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. PT/10:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by W Radio 690 AM.

19. D.C. United

Ben Olsen’s D.C. United fell 2-0 to the Portland Timbers at RFK Stadium and will need to get back on the winning track when they travel to City Stadium in Richmond, Va. to take on the Richmond Kickers in U.S. Open Cup action. Kickoff is scheduled for 7 p.m. ET. On Jun. 2, D.C. travel to Toyota Park to take on the Chicago Fire. Kickoff is scheduled for 5 p.m. ET and will be televised by Comcast SportsNet.

Tags: Los Angeles Galaxy Major League Soccer Mls Power Rankings

Join The Discussion