April 20, 2013; Carson, CA, USA; General view of Home Depot Center as the Los Angeles Galaxy play against Sporting KC during the second half. Mandatory Credit: Gary A. Vasquez-USA TODAY Sports

2013 MLS Power Rankings: Week 8

The Colorado Rapids take a massive dive in this week’s MLS Power Rankings after receiving their comeuppance by the Seattle Sounders. Meanwhile, FC Dallas remain at the top of the rankings for another week, with the Los Angeles Galaxy also making inroads by jumping up to second. All this and more on the MLS Power Rankings powered by the View from Avalon.

1. FC Dallas

At the top for another week are Schellas Hyndman’s FC Dallas, who shut out the Vancouver Whitecaps at FC Dallas Stadium in Frisco, Tex. by the tune of 2-0. A Brad Rusin own goal in the 29th minute, combined with a 50th-minute strike from Blas Perez told the story. Dallas will take on the Whitecaps again on Apr. 27 at BC Place Stadium in Vancouver, B.C. Kickoff is scheduled for 5 p.m. CT and will be televised by Time Warner Cable SportsNet.

2. Los Angeles Galaxy

Goals from Marcelo Sarvas in the 27th minute and Landon Donovan in the 74th minute powered the Galaxy to a 2-0 shutout victory over Sporting Kansas City at the Home Depot Center in Carson, Calif. LA return to action on Apr. 27 when they travel to Rio Tinto Stadium in Sandy, Utah to face Real Salt Lake. Kickoff is scheduled for 6 p.m. PT/9 p.m. ET and will be televised by Time Warner Cable SportsNet.

3. Houston Dynamo

Warren Creavalle spared Dominic Kinnear’s Houston Dynamo some orange blushes in the fourth minute of second-half stoppage time to give the Dynamo a 1-1 draw with Toronto FC at BMO Field in Toronto, Ont. Houston were foced to play down to 10 men with Jermaine Taylor being given his marching orders in the 62nd minute. Houstong return to action on Apr. 28 when they host the Colorado Rapids at BBVA Compass Stadium in Houston, Tex. Kickoff is scheduled for 4 p.m. CT/5 p.m. ET and will be televised by Comcast SportsNet and UniMas.

4. Portland Timbers

April 14, 2013; Portland, OR, USA; The game ball sits on a stand before the game between the Portland Timbers and the San Jose Earthquakes at Jeld-Wen Field. Mandatory Credit: Steve Dykes-USA TODAY Sports

Diego Valeri scored in the 58th minute, but Caleb Porter’s Portland Timbers could not hang on in second-half stoppage time and were held to a 1-1 draw with the San Jose Earthquakes at Buck Shaw Stadium on the campus of Santa Clara University in Santa Clara, Calif. Portland’s next match is on the road at Sporting Park in Kansas City, Kan. against Sporting Kansas City on Apr. 27. Kickoff is scheduled for 5:30 p.m. PT/8:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by KPDX.

5. New York Red Bulls

Mike Petke’s New York Red Bulls split a pair of league contests this week. After getting shut out by Sporting Kansas City 1-0 at Red Bull Arena in Harrison, N.J., they responded by hammering the New England Revolution 4-1 at home. Goals from Dax McCarty (4′), Fabian Espindola (8′), Thierry Henry (82′) and Jonny Steele (89′) paced the Red Bulls, who return to action on Apr. 27 on the road against Toronto FC at BMO Field. Kickoff is scheduled for 2 p.m. ET and will be televised by MSG.

6. Sporting Kansas City

Peter Vermes’s Sporting Kansas City also split a pair of contests over the week. An Aurelien Collin goal in the 13th minute powered Sporting to a 1-0 shutout victory over the New York Red Bulls at Red Bull Arena but they were unable to replicate their heroics against the Los Angeles Galaxy in their 2-0 shutout defeat. Kansas City return to action on Apr. 27 when they face the Portland Timbers at Sporting Park. Kickoff is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. CT/8:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by KSMO-TV.

7. Real Salt Lake

Apr 20, 2013; Sandy, UT, USA; Real Salt Lake midfielder Lovel Palmer (7) and midfielder Yordany Alvarez (14) celebrate a 1-0 victory over Chivas USA at Rio Tinto Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Russ Isabella-USA TODAY Sports

Jason Kreis’s Real Salt Lake rode on a 53rd-minute goal from Javier Morales en route to a 1-0 victory over Chivas USA at Rio Tinto Stadium. A big matchup at home awaits RSL in the form of the Los Angeles Galaxy on Apr. 27. Kickoff is scheduled for 7 p.m. MT/9 p.m. ET and will be televised by CW30.

8. San Jose Earthquakes

Adam Jahn’s goal in the second minute of second-half stoppage time gave Frank Yallop’s San Jose Earthquakes a 1-1 draw with the Portland Timbers at Buck Shaw Stadium. San Jose return to action on Apr. 27 against Chivas USA at the Home Depot Center. Kickoff is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. PT/10:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by Comcast SportsNet.

9. Montreal Impact

Marco Schallibaum’s Montreal Impact were off this past weekend and will return to action with two matches this week. The first leg of the Nutrilite Canadian Championship Semifinals with Toronto FC at BMO Field is scheduled for Apr. 24 at 8 p.m. ET and will be televised by Rogers SportsNet. On Apr. 27, L’Impact host the Chicago Fire on Apr. 27 at Stade Saputo. Kickoff is scheduled for 4 p.m. ET and will be televised by TSN and RDS.

10. Philadelphia Union

A Jack McInerney brace in the seventh and 26th minutes along with an 11th-minute strike from Conor Casey gave John Hackworth’s Philadelphia Union a 3-2 victory over D.C. United at RFK Stadium. Up next for the Union is a match with the New England Revolution at Gillette Stadium in Foxborough, Mass. on Apr. 27. Kickoff is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by The Comcast Network.

11. Toronto FC

Apr 20, 2013; Toronto, Ontario, CAN; Toronto FC midfielder Reggie Lambe (19) tries to control the ball as Houston Dynamo midfielder Ricardo Clark (13) watches at BMO Field. Houston and Toronto tied 1-1. Mandatory Credit: John E. Sokolowski-USA TODAY Sports

Jeremy Hall’s 58th-minute goal looked to be enough for Ryan Nelsen’s Toronto FC, but they were consigned to yet another draw, 1-1 with a 10-man Houston Dynamo side, at BMO Field. Toronto host the Montreal Impact on Apr. 24 in the first leg of the Canadian Championship semifinals. Kickoff is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by Rogers SportsNet One. The home stand continues for the Reds when they host the New York Red Bulls on Apr. 27. Kickoff at BMO is schewduled for 2 p.m. ET and will be televised by TSN.

12. Seattle Sounders

Sigi Schmid’s Seattle Sounders take a big jump in the Power Rankings after defeating the Colorado Rapids 1-0 on a Obafemi Martins goal in the 27th minute of play at Dick’s Sporting Goods Park in Commerce City, Colo. Seattle take the weekend off before continuing their road trip on May 4 against the Philadelphia Union at PPL Park. Kickoff is scheduled for 1 p.m. PT/4 p.m. ET and will be televised by KONG 6/16.

13. Chicago Fire

At Toyota Park in Bridgeview, Ill., Frank Klopas’s Chicago Fire scorched the Columbus Crew 1-0 on a goal from Jeff Larentowicz in the 83rd minute of play. Chicago travel to Stade Saputo on Apr. 27 to take on the Montreal Impact. Kickoff is scheduled for 3 p.m. CT/4 p.m. ET and will be televised by NBC Sports.

14. Columbus Crew

Robert Warzycha’s Columbus Crew were left scratching their heads as they fell to the Chicago Fire, 1-0 at Toyota Park. The Crew return to Crew Stadium in Columbus, Ohio to take on D.C. United. Kickoff is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by FOX Sports Ohio.

Apr 20, 2013; Commerce City, CO, USA; Seattle Sounders head coach Sigi Schmid acknowledges fans after the match against the Colorado Rapids at Dick

15. Colorado Rapids

Oscar Pareja’s Colorado Rapids take a big dive in the Power Rankings after getting hung out to dry by the Seattle Sounders, 1-0 at Dick’s Sporting Goods Park. Up next for the Rapids is a match with the Houston Dynamo on Apr. 28 at BBVA Compass Stadium. Kickoff is scheduled for 3 p.m. MT/5 p.m. ET and will be televised by UniMas and Altitude.

16. Chivas USA

Jose Luis Sanchez Sola’s Chivas USA were shut out 1-0 and will look to bounce back when they host the San Jose Earthquakes at the Home Depot Center on Apr. 27. Kickoff is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. PT/10:30 p.m. ET and will be broadcast on the radio on W Radio 690 AM.

17. Vancouver Whitecaps

Taking a huge dive this week were Martin Rennie’s Vancouver Whitecaps, who were shut out 2-0 by FC Dallas at FC Dallas Stadium. Things won’t get any easier for the Caps, who have a couple of matches in store. First up is the first leg of the Canadian Championship semifinals against FC Edmonton on Apr. 24. Kickoff at Commonwealth Stadium in Edmonton, Alb. is scheduled for 6:30 p.m. PT/9:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by Rogerst SportsNet One. On Apr. 27, the Caps get another crack at FC Dallas at BC Place Stadium. Kickoff is scheduled for 3 p.m. PT/6 p.m. ET and will be televised by Rogers SportsNet One.

18. New England Revolution

Jay Heaps’s New England Revolution continued their slide as they fell to the New York Red Bulls 4-1 at Red Bull Arena. An own goal from New York’s Brandon Barklage was all New England could muster. The Revs returned to action on Apr. 27 against the Philadelphia Union at Gillette Stadium. Kickoff is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by Comcast SportsNet.

19. D.C. United

Can things get any worse for Ben Olsen’s D.C. United? Despite goals from Perry Kitchen (17′) and Lionard Pajoy (47′), D.C. could not complete a comeback rally against the Philadelphia Union and fell, 3-2. The only direction for D.C. is up as they face the Columbus Crew at Crew Stadium on Apr. 27. Kickoff is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. ET.

Tags: Los Angeles Galaxy Major League Soccer Mls Power Rankings

comments powered by Disqus