Apr 5, 2013; Kansas City, KS, USA; Sporting KC fans cheer after the game against D.C. United at Sporting Park. Kansas City won 1-0. Mandatory Credit: John Rieger-USA TODAY Sports

2013 MLS Power Rankings: Week 6

A new face is at the top of this week’s MLS Power Rankings: it’s Sporting Kansas City, who are now on fire to begin a big April of football. At the bottom of this week’s Power Rankings are the Seattle Sounders, who were away from league action to focus on their CONCACAF Champions League semifinal with Santos Laguna.

Movers and shakers all around. It’s time for this week’s MLS Power Rankings on the View from Avalon.

1. Sporting Kansas City

Peter Vermes’s Sporting Kansas City got a goal from Claudio Bieler in the 89th minute to earn a 1-0 shutout victory over D.C. United at Sporting Park in Kansas City, Kan. Sporting return to action on Apr. 17 when they travel to Red Bull Arena in Harrison, N.J. to take on the New York Red Bulls. Kickoff is scheduled for 6:30 p.m. CT/7:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by KSMO-TV. On Apr. 20, Sporting hit the road to face the Los Angeles Galaxy. Kickoff at the Home Depot Center in Carson, Calif. is scheduled for 9:30 p.m. CT/10:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by NBC Sports Network.

2. Chivas USA

Jose Luis Sanchez Sola’s Chivas USA were off this past weekend. The Goats are back in action on Apr. 13 against the Colorado Rapids at the Home Depot Center. Kickoff is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. PT/10:30 p.m. ET.

3. Los Angeles Galaxy

Bruce Arena’s Los Angeles Galaxy suffered a tough 2-1 defeat to CF Monterrey in the first leg of the 2012-13 CONCACAF Champions League semifinals. A.J. DeLaGarza scored in the 28th minute for the Galaxy. They will face Los Rayados in the second leg at the Estadio Tecnologico on Apr. 10. Kickoff is scheduled for 7 p.m. PT/10 p.m. ET and will be televised by FOX Soccer and Galavision. Los Angeles will be back in league action on Apr. 13, when they travel to Frisco, Tex. and FC Dallas Stadium to clash with FC Dallas. Kickoff is scheduled for 4:30 p.m. PT/7:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by NBC Sports Network.

4. FC Dallas

Apr 6, 2013; Toronto, Ontario, CAN; FC Dallas head coach Schellas Hyndman congratulates FC Dallas forward Blas Perez (7) after scoring against Toronto FC at BMO Field. Toronto and Dallas tied 2-2. Mandatory Credit: John E. Sokolowski-USA TODAY Sports

Schellas Hyndman’s FC Dallas were consigned to a 2-2 draw with Toronto FC at BMO Field in Toronto, Ont. Andrew Jacobson opened the scoring in the 34th minute and Blas Perez made it 2-0 in the 59th minute, but the Hoops were unable to hang on late. FC Dallas host the Los Angeles Galaxy on Apr. 13 at FC Dallas Stadium. Kickoff is scheduled for 4:30 p.m. PT/7:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by NBC Sports Network.

5. Houston Dynamo

Dominic Kinnear’s Houston Dynamo suffered an embarrassing 2-0 defeat to the Portland Timbers on the road at JELD-WEN Field in Portland, Ore. The Men in Orange return to action on Apr. 14 when they host the Chicago Fire at BBVA Compass Stadium in Houston, Tex. Kickoff is scheduled for 4 p.m. CT/5 p.m. ET and will be televised by UniMas.

6. Portland Timbers

Caleb Porter’s Portland Timbers won their first league game, stuning the Houston Dynamo 2-0 at JELD-WEN Field thanks to a brace from Ryan Johnson in the 55th and 73rd minutes of play. Johnson will look to build on his totals when the Timbers host the San Jose Earthquakes on Apr. 14 at JELD-WEN. Kickoff is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. PT and will be televised by NBC Sports Network.

7. Colorado Rapids

Also picking up their first win of the season were Oscar Pareja’s Colorado Rapids, who rode on Atiba Harris’s goal five minutes in to coast to a 1-0 victory over Real Salt Lake at Dick’s Sporting Goods Park in Commerce City, Colo. Colorado return to the Home Depot Center on Apr. 13 to take on Chivas USA. Kickoff is scheduled for 8:30 p.m. MT/10:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by Altitude 2.

8. Columbus Crew

Apr 6, 2013; Columbus, OH, USA; Columbus Crew midfielder Matias Sanchez (8) controls the ball away from Philadelphia Union midfielder Keon Daniel (26) at Crew Stadium. Game ends in a 1-1 tie. Mandatory Credit: Trevor Ruszkowksi-USA TODAY Sports

Robert Warzycha’s Columbus Crew drew 1-1 with the Philadelphia Union at Crew Stadium in Columbus, Ohio thanks to a goal from Dominic Oduro in the 72nd minute of play. The Crew return to action on Apr. 13 against the Montreal Impact at Stade Sapito in Montreal, Que. Kickoff is scheduled for 2 p.m. ET and will be televised by FOX Sports Ohio.

9. Montreal Impact

Marco Schallibaum’s Montreal Impact were off this past weekend. They will host the Columbus Crew on Apr. 13 at Stade Saputo. Kickoff is scheduled for 2 p.m. ET and will be televised by RDS 2 and TSN.

10. Vancouver Whitecaps

Corey Hertzog’s 62nd-minute goal was enough to give Martin Rennie’s Vancouver Whitecaps a 1-1 draw with the San Jose Earthquakes at Buck Shaw Stadium on the campus of Santa Clara University in Santa Clara, Calif. The Caps will host Real Satl Lake on Apr. 13 at BC Place Stadium. Kickoff is scheduled for 1 p.m. PT/4 p.m. ET and will be televised by RDS 2.

11. Toronto FC

Ryan Nelsen’s Toronto FC salvaged another 2-2 draw, this time at the hands of FC Dallas at BMO Field. Justin Braun pulled one back in the 85th minute and Darel Russell delivered a scorching Goal of the Week candidate in the 90th minute of play. Toronto return to action on Apr. 13, when they travel to PPL Park in Chester, Pa. to take on the Philadelphia Union. Kickoff is scheduled for 4 p.m. ET and will be televised by Rogers SportsNet Ontario.

12. Real Salt Lake

April 6, 2013; Commerce City, CO, USA; Colorado Rapids fans cheer on in the second half of the match against Real Salt Lake at Dick

Jason Kreis’s Real Salt Lake couldn’t get anything going from Alvaro Saborio as they fell 1-0 to the Colorado Rapids at Dick’s Sporting Goods Park. RSL return to action on Apr. 13, when they travel to BC Place Stadium in Vancouver B.C. to clash with the Vancouver Whitecaps. Kickoff is schjeduled for 2 p.m. MT/4 p.m. ET and will be televised by ABC 4.

13. Chicago Fire

Finally, Frank Klopas’s Chicago Fire are on fire, scorching the New York Red Bulls 3-1 at Toyota Park in Bridgeview, Ill. Dan Paladini equalized in the 44th minute of play before Maicon Santos earned a brace in the 83rd and 89th minute of play. The Fire hit the road on Apr. 14 to take on the Houston Dynamo at BBVA Compass Stadium. Kickoff is scheduled for 4 p.m. CT/5 p.m. ET and will be televised by UniMas.

14. San Jose Earthquakes

Frank Yallop’s San Jose Earthquakes got a goal from Chris Wondolowski in the 18th minute but that was all they could muster as they were consigned to a 1-1 draw with the Vancouver Whitecaps at Buck Shaw Stadium. Up next for the Quakes is a match with the Portland Timbers on Apr. 14 at JELD-WEN Field. Kickoff is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. PT/10:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by NBC Sports Network.

15. D.C. United

April 06, 2013; Santa Clara, CA, USA; San Jose Earthquakes midfielder Sam Cronin (4) flips over Vancouver Whitecaps midfielder Nigel Reo-Coker (13) during the second half at Buck Shaw Stadium. The Vancouver Whitecaps tied the San Jose Earthquakes 1-1. Mandatory Credit: Kelley L Cox-USA TODAY Sports

Ben Olsen’s D.C. United suffered a tough loss at the hands of Sporting Kansas City on the road, 1-0, at Sporting Park. United return to action on Apr. 13 when they face the New York Red Bulls at RFK Stadium in Washington, D.C. Kickoff is scheduled for 7 p.m. ET. and will be televised by Comcast SportsNet.

16. Philadelphia Union

John Hackworth’s Philadelphia Union got a goal from Jack McInerney in the 34th minute, but they couldn’t hold on and were consigned to a 1-1 draw with the Columbus Crew at Crew Stadium. Up next for the Union is a match with Toronto FC at PPL Park on Apr. 13. Kickoff is scheduled for 4 p.m. ET and will be televised by ABC 6.

17. New York Red Bulls

Despite a goal from Jamison Olave in the 17th minue, Mike Petke’s New York Red Bulls were worn down by the Chicago Fire and fell, 3-1, at Toyota Park. New York will need to get its act together when they travel to RFK Stadium to take on D.C. United on Apr. 13. Kickoff is scheduled for 7 p.m. ET and will be televised by MSG2.

18. New England Revolution

Jay Heaps’s New England Revolution were off this past week and will return to action against the Seattle Sounders in a clash of cellar-dwellers at CenturyLink Field in Seattle, Wash. Kickoff is schedueld for 4 p.m. ET and will be televised by Comcast SportsNet.

19. Seattle Sounders

A goal from Herculez Gomez in the 54th minute doomed Sigi Schmid’s Seattle Sounders in their 1-0 defeat to Santos Laguna in the first leg of their 2012-13 CONCACAF Champions League semifinal at CenturyLink Field. The second leg at Estadio Corona in Torreon, Mexico is scheduled for Apr. 9. Kickoff is set for 5 p.m. PT/8 p.m. ET and will be televised by FOX Soccer. The Sounders return to league action on Apr. 13 against the New England Revolution. Kickoff is scheduled for 1 p.m. PT/4 p.m. ET and will be televised by KONG 6/16.

Tags: Los Angeles Galaxy Major League Soccer Mls Power Rankings

comments powered by Disqus