Mar 23, 2013; Montreal, Quebec, CAN; Montreal Impact midfield Davy Arnaud (22) shakes hands after the game against New York Red Bulls at the Olympic Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Jean-Yves Ahern-USA TODAY Sports

2013 MLS Power Rankings: Week 4


In this week’s 2013 MLS Power Rankings, the Montreal Impact remain unbeaten after taking down the New York Red Bulls. However, L’Impact will have to watch their back because on their trail are a slew of Western Conference teams, led by FC Dallas. Let’s take a look at this week’s Power Rankings on the View from Avalon.

1. Montreal Impact

Marco Schallibaum’s Montreal Impact are making it happen this season. A goal from scoring talisman Marco Di Vaio paced L’Impact to a 1-0 victory over the New York Red Bulls at Olympic Stadium in Montreal. Up next for Montreal is a match with Sporting Kansas City at Sporting Park in Kansas City, Kan. on Mar. 30. Kickoff is scheduled for 8:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by TVA Sports.

2. FC Dallas

Schellas Hyndman’s FC Dallas are also on fire after their 2-0 shutout victory over Real Salt Lake at FC Dallas Stadium in Frisco, Tex. Late goals from Fabian Castillo (70′) and Jackson (81′) paced Dallas, who return to action on Mar. 30 against the New England Revolution at Gillette Stadium in Foxborough, Mass. Kickoff is scheduled for 3 p.m. CT/4 p.m. ET and will be televised by Time Warner Cable SportsNet.

3. San Jose Earthquakes

Chris Wondolowski was the hero once again for Frank Yallop’s San Jose Earthquakes. His goal in the 46th minute gave the Quakes a 1-0 shutout victory over the Seattle Sounders at Buck Shaw Stadium on the campus of Santa Clara University in Santa Clara, Calif. San Jose continue their season on the road against the Houston Dynamo on Mar. 30 at BBVA Compass Stadium in Houston Tex. Kickoff is scheduled for 5:30 p.m. PT/8:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by Comcast SportsNet Plus.

4. Los Angeles Galaxy

A 50th-minute penalty conversion by Mike Magee gave Bruce Arena’s Los Angeles Galaxy a 1-0 shutout win over the Colorado Rapids at the Home Depot Center in Carson, Calif. Up next for the G’s is a match with Toronto FC on Mar. 30 at BMO Field in Toronto, Ont. Kickoff is scheduled for 11 a.m. PT/2 p.m. ET and will be televised by Time Warner Cable SportsNet.

5. Houston Dynamo

Mar 23, 2013; Houston, TX, USA; Houston Dynamo goalkeeper Tally Hall (1) greets fans after a match against the Vancouver Whitecaps at BBVA Compass Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Troy Taormina-USA TODAY Sports

Down a goal, Dominic Kinnear’s Houston Dynamo turned back the Canadian Invasion and defeated the Vancouver Whitecaps, 2-1, at BBVA Compass Stadium. Giles Barnes equalized in the 55th minute and Warren Creavalle delivered the game-winner in the 62nd minute of play. Houston continue their season on Mar. 30 against the San Jose Earthquakes. Kickoff at BBVA Compass is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. CT/8:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by KPRC Local 2.

6. Chivas USA

Make no mistake about it, Jose Luis Sanchez Sola’s Chivas USA are pretty good. The Goats put on their best display this season: a 4-1 rout of the Chicago Fire at Toyota Park in Bridgeview, Ill. Goals from Edgar Mejia (57′), Joaquin Velazquez (73′) and Juan Agudelo (75′) along with an own goal from Chicago’s Jalil Anibaba in the 89th minute of play sealed all three points for Chivas, who return to action on Mar. 30 against the Vancouver Whitecaps. Kickoff is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. PT/10:30 p.m. ET.

7. Vancouver Whitecaps

Martin Rennie’s Vancouver Whitecaps are unbeaten no longer. Despite a goal from Darren Mattocks in the 36th minute, the Caps were unable to hang on and fell to the Houston Dynamo, 2-1, at BBVA Compass Stadium. Vancouver will look to bounce back on Mar. 30 against Chivas USA at the Home Depot Center. Kickoff is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. PT/10:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by CITY TY and Rogers SportsNet One.

8. Columbus Crew

Robert Warzycha’s Columbus Crew picked up a 2-1 victory over D.C. United on Saturday at RFK Stadium in Washington, D.C. Josh Williams opened up the scoring in the 15th minute but it was Ben Speas who was the hero for the Massive in the 58th minute of play. Columbus return to action on Apr. 6 when they take on the Philadephia Union at Crew Stadium in Columbus, Ohio. Kickoff is scheduled for 5 p.m. ET and will be televised by Fox Sports Ohio.

9. Philadelphia Union

Mar 23, 2013; Philadelphia, PA, USA; A fan smiles as Philadelphia Union defender Sheanon Williams (25) signs an autograph after the game against the Puma. The Union beat the Puma 1-0 at PPL Park. Mandatory Credit: John Geliebter-USA TODAY Sports

John Hackworth’s Philadelphia Union were off this past weekend and will return to action on Mar. 30 against the New York Red Bulls at Red Bull Arena in Harrison, N.J. Kickoff is scheduled for 3:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by NBC Sports Network.

10. D.C. United

Ben Olsen’s D.C. United got a goal from Rafael in the 22nd minute but couldn’t muster anything else in their 2-1 defeat to the Columbus Crew at RFK Stadium. D.C.’s next contest is on Apr. 5, when they face Sporting Kansas City at Sporting Park. Kickoff is scheduled for 8:30 p.m. ET.

11. Real Salt Lake

Jason Kreis’s Real Salt Lake were left searching for answers after their 2-0 defeat to FC Dallas at FC Dallas Stadium. It will not get any easier for RSL, who host the Seattle Sounders in a glorified pillow fight at Rio Tinto Stadium in Sandy, Utah on Mar. 30. Kickoff is scheduled for 7 p.m. MT/9 p.m. ET and will be televised by CW30.

12. Sporting Kansas City

Peter Vermes’s Sporting Kansas City played to a scoreless draw against the New England Revolution at Gillette Stadium. Sporting will hope to get their goal production in order when they host the high-flying Montreal Impact on Mar. 30 at Sporting Park. Kickoff is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. CT/8:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by KSMO-TV.

13. Toronto FC

Ryan Nelsen’s Toronto FC were off this past weekend. This week, the Reds host the Los Angeles Galaxy at BMO Field on Mar. 30. Kickoff is scheduled for 2 p.m. ET and will be televised by TSN.

14. Portland Timbers

Mar 16, 2013; Seattle, WA, USA; General view of CenturyLink Field during the game between the Seattle Sounders FC and the Portland Timbers at CenturyLink Field. The game was a draw 1-1. Mandatory Credit: Steven Bisig-USA TODAY Sports

Caleb Porter’s Portland Timbers were also off this past weekend and will return to action on Mar. 30 against the Colorado Rapids at Dick’s Sporting Goods Park in Commerce City, Colo. Kickoff is scheduled for 3 p.m. PT/6 p.m. ET and will be televised by ROOT Sports.

15. New England Revolution

Jay Heaps’s New England Revolution were held to a scoreless draw at home to Sporting Kansas City this past weekend. The Revs continue their season on Mar. 30 when they host red-hot FC Dallas at Gillette Stadium. Kickoff is scheduled for 4 p.m. ET and will be televised by Comcast SportsNet.

16. New York Red Bulls

Mike Petke’s New York Red Bulls are in damage control after falling to the Montreal Impact, 1-0, at Olympic Stadium. New York continue their season against the Philadelphia Union on Mar. 30. Kickoff is scheduled for 3:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by NBC Sports Network.

17. Colorado Rapids

Another club with explaining to do are Oscar Pareja’s Colorado Rapids, who fell 1-0 to the Los Angeles Galaxy at the Home Depot Center. It’s still early in the season, so there is plenty of time for the Rapids to bounce back. They get their opportunity on Mar. 30 against the Portland Timbers at Dick’s Sporting Goods Park. Kickoff is scheduled for 4 p.m. MT/6 p.m. ET and will be televised by Altitude.

18. Seattle Sounders

Yet another team in damage control are Sigi Schmid’s Seattle Sounders, who dropped a 1-0 contest to the San Jose Earthquakes at Buck Shaw Stadium. The Sounders need to turn the tide when they travel to Rio Tinto Stadium to face Real Salt Lake on Mar. 30. Kickoff is scheduled for 6 p.m. PT/9 p.m. ET and will be televised by KONG 6/16.

19. Chicago Fire

At the bottom of the Power Rankings for yet another week are Frank Klopas’s Chicago Fire, who got a goal from Patrick Nyarko in the 64th minute but were slammed 4-1 by Chivas USA at Toyota Park. Up next for the Fire is a pillow fight with the New York Red Bulls on Apr. 7 at home. Kickoff is scheduled for 4 p.m. CT/5 p.m. ET and will be televised by ESPN2.

Tags: Los Angeles Galaxy Major League Soccer Mls Power Rankings

Join The Discussion