Mar 3, 2013; Carson, CA, USA; MLS commissioner Don Garber in attendance for the game between the Los Angeles Galaxy and the Chicago Fire at The Home Depot Center. Galaxy won 4-0. Mandatory Credit: Jayne Kamin-Oncea-USA TODAY Sports

2013 MLS Power Rankings: Week 1


A week has come and gone here in Major League Soccer, and the first in-season MLS Power Rankings are fresh off the presses here on the View from Avalon. The Los Angeles Galaxy are at the top this week and Houston Dynamo remain where they are.

Meanwhile, Sporting Kansas City and the Montreal Impact came out firing this weekend with big victories themselves. All this and more on the MLS Power Rankings here on the View from Avalon, part of the FanSided Network.

1. Los Angeles Galaxy

Mike Magee. Remember that name very well because every match day here and then, you’re going to hear it pop up. The league’s leading goalscorer after Week 1, Magee tore it up in the 38th, 68th and 74th minutes to give Bruce Arena’s Los Angeles Galaxy a 4-0 shutout win over the Chicago Fire at the Home Depot Center in Carson, Calif. LA continue their season with CONCACAF Champions League action against C.S. Herediano. Their next league contest is on Sunday, Mar. 17 against Chivas USA. Kickoff at the HDC is scheduled for 2 p.m. PT/5 p.m. ET and will be televised by Time Warner Cable Sportsnet and UniMas.

2. Houston Dynamo

Dominic Kinnear’s Houston Dynamo were not keen on missing a beat from a great MLS Cup Playoff run and reprised their postseason efforts against D.C. United, 2-0, at BBVA Compass Stadium in Houston. D.C.’s James Riley scored an own-goal in the 80th minute and Ricardo Clark slammed the door shut in the 89th minute of play. The Dynamo return to action this week against Santos Laguna in the CONCACAF Champions League. Their next league match is on Sunday, Mar. 17 against FC Dallas at FC Dallas Stadium in Frisco, Tex. Kickoff is scheduled for 12 p.m. CT/1 p.m. ET and will be televised by ESPN2.

3. Sporting Kansas City

Peter Vermes’s Sporting Kansas City opened up the season with a 3-1 win over the Philadelphia Union at PPL Park in Chester, Pa. Down a goal late in the first half, Sporting fired back thanks to Graham Zusi (41′), Oriol Rosell (66′) and Claudio Bieler (83′). Sporting return to action on Saturday, Mar. 9 against Toronto FC at Rogers Centre in Toronto, Ont. Kickoff is scheduled for 12:30 p.m. CT/1:30 p.m. ET and will be televised locally by KCWE.

4. Real Salt Lake

Jason Kreis’s Real Salt Lake got off to a solid start on Sunday thanks to Alvaro Saborio. The Costa Rican international scored a brace in the 71st and 85th minutes to give RSL a 2-0 shutout victory over the San Jose Earthquakes at Buck Shaw Stadium on the campus of Santa Clara University in Santa Clara, Calif. Real Salt Lake continue their road trip on Mar. 9 against D.C. United at RFK Stadium in Washington, D.C. Kickoff is scheduled for 5 p.m. MT/7 p.m. ET and will be televised locally by ABC 4.

5. Montreal Impact

Mar 2, 2013; Seattle, WA, USA; Seattle Sounders FC midfielder Mauro Rosales (10) after the game against the Montreal Impact at CenturyLink Field. Montreal defeated Seattle 1-0. Mandatory Credit: Steven Bisig-USA TODAY Sports

Marco Schallibaum’s Montreal Impact delivered the upset of the week: a 1-0 stunner over the Seattle Sounders at CenturyLink Field in Seattle, Wash. Davy Arnaud was the hero in the 35th minute for L’Impact, who travel to Jeld-Wen Field in Portland, Ore. on Mar. 9 to take on the Portland Timbers. Kickoff is scheduled for 10:30 p.m. ET and will be televised locally by TVA Sports.

6. Vancouver Whitecaps

In the 59th minute, Gershon Koffie, with the help of Daigo Kobayashi and Lee Young-Pyo, helped Martin Rennie’s Vancouver Whitecaps prevail, 1-0, over Toronto FC at BC Place Stadium in Vancouver, B.C. The Caps will look to build on their result on Saturday, Mar. 9 against the Columbus Crew. Kickoff is scheduled for 4:30 p.m. PT/7:30 p.m. ET and will be televised locally by Rogers SportsNet Pacific.

7. Columbus Crew

Robert Warzycha’s Columbus Crew opened up their season with a 3-0 shutout victory over Chivas USA at the Home Depot Center. Federico Higuain opened up the scoring in the 51st minute, Josh Williams made it 2-0 in the 88th minute and Dominic Oduro slammed the door shut in the fourth minute of second half stoppage time. Columbus are primed to consolidate on their result on Mar. 9 against the Vancouver Whitecaps at BC Place. Kickoff is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by Fox Sports Ohio.

8. New York Red Bulls

Despite a brace from Fabian Espindola (9′, 24′) and a third from Jamison Olave (28′), it was Olave that was his own worst enemy, scoring an own goal in the 83rd minute of play to consign Mike Petke’s New York Red Bulls to an entertaining 3-3 draw with the Portland Timbers at Jeld-Wen Field in Portland. It will not get any easier for New York, who travel across the continent to take on the San Jose Earthquakes on Mar. 10. Kickoff is scheduled for 10 p.m. ET and will be televised by ESPN2.

9. D.C. United

Ben Olsen’s D.C. United saw their postseason aspiration turn to dust at the hands of the Houston Dynamo, and the Men in Orange were United’s worst nightmare come to fruition yet again as they fell 2-0. It will not get any easier for D.C., who host Real Salt Lake on Saturday, Mar. 9, at RFK Stadium in Washington, D.C. Kickoff is scheduled for 7 p.m. ET and will be televised by Comcast SportsNet.

10. FC Dallas

Mar 2, 2013; Frisco, TX, USA; FC Dallas mid-fielder David Ferreira (10) in action against the Colorado Rapids at FC Dallas Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Matthew Emmons-USA TODAY Sports

Schellas Hyndman’s FC Dallas got some 11th-minute heroics from Jackson to give the Hoops a 1-0 shutout win over the Colorado Rapids at FC Dallas Stadium. Dallas return to action on Mar. 10 against Chivas USA at the Home Depot Center. Kickoff is scheduled for 4 p.m. CT/5 p.m. ET and will be televised by UniMas.

11. San Jose Earthquakes

Frank Yallop’s San Jose Earthquakes were not in good spirits after getting Sabo-taged by Real Salt Lake 2-0 at Buck Shaw Stadium. It will not get any easier for the Quakes, who host the New York Red Bulls next. Kickoff is scheduled for Mar. 10 at 7 p.m. PT/10 p.m. ET and will be televised by ESPN2.

12. Seattle Sounders

Sigi Schmid’s Seattle Sounders have to be wondering, what in the name of Pele went wrong against the Montreal Impact? A 1-0 shutout defeat at CenturyLink Field told the story for the Sounders, who will need to search for answers as they face Tigres UANL in the CONCACAF Champions League this week. The Sounders return to league action on Mar. 16 against the Portland Timbers at CenturyLink. Kickoff is scheduled for 5 p.m. PT/8 p.m. ET and will be televised by the NBC Sports Network.

13. Portland Timbers

Caleb Porter’s Portland Timbers fought valiantly and held the New York Red Bulls to a 3-3 draw at Jeld-Wen Field. Diego Valeri scored an equalizer in the 14th minute and Darlington Nagbe took one back in the 56th minute of play. An own goal from New York’s Jamison Olave forced the point split. The Timbers’ next match is on Mar. 9 against the Montreal Impact. Kickoff at Jeld-Wen is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. PT/10:30 p.m. ET and will be televised locally by KPTV.

14. New England Revolution

Jay Heaps’s New England Revolution were off this weekend. They open their season on Saturday, Mar. 9 against the Chicago Fire at Toyota Park. Kickoff is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by NBC Sports Network.

15. Colorado Rapids

Mar 2, 2013; Philadelphia, PA, USA; Philadelphia Union midfielder Michael Lahoud (13) stands with a child during the pre game against Sporting KC at PPL Park. Mandatory Credit: Paul Frederiksen-USA TODAY Sports

Oscar Pareja’s Colorado Rapids were on the short end of the stick in theie 1-0 defeat to FC Dallas at FC Dallas Stadium. Colorado will look to bounce back on Mar. 9 against the Philadelphia Union at Dick’s Sporting Goods Park in Commerce City, Colo. Kickoff is scheduled for 4 p.m. MT/6 p.m. ET and will be televised by Altitude.

16. Philadelphia Union

Sebastien Le Toux scored in the 17th minute for John Hackworth’s Philadelphia Union, but it was not enough as they were blitzed by Sporting Kansas City, 3-1, at PPL Park. The Union will need to channer their inner Doop and hope for a more inspired effort against the Colorado Rapids on Saturday, Mar. 9 at Dick’s Sporting Goods Park. Kickoff is scheduled for 6 p.m. ET and will be televised by Comcast SportsNet.

17. Chicago Fire

Frank Klopas’s Chicago Fire were punchless and were doused by the Los Angeles Galaxy, 4-0, on Sunday at the Home Depot Center. The Fire will hope to bounce back from this season-opening disasterpiece with a match against the New England Revolution on Mar. 9 at Toyota Park. Kickoff is scheduled for 6:30 p.m. CT/7:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by NBC Sports Network.

18. Chivas USA

Even with the new coach, Jose Luis Sanchez Sola, Chivas USA is still Chivas USA: the same little brothers to the Galaxy that they have always been. And their 3-0 defeat to the Columbus Crew says it all. Can they fix the problem that they are, according to the eyes of the naysayers? The Mar. 10 contest with FC Dallas will tell all. Kickoff is scheduled for 2 p.m. PT/5 p.m. ET and will be televised by UniMas.

19. Toronto FC

New boss, same team. Ryan Nelsen’s Toronto FC didn’t miss a beat from their futile losing ways, dropping a 1-0 result to the Vancouver Whitecaps at BC Place Stadium. Par for the course from the best team in Canada [sic, see Voyageurs Cup] as they host Sporting Kansas City at Rogers Centre. Kickoff is scheduled for 1:30 p.m. ET and will be televised by TSN.

Tags: Featured Major League Soccer Mls Popular Power Rankings

Join The Discussion